矩阵勒索软件

矩阵勒索软件说明

PC安全研究人员于2018年4月3日观察到Matrix Ransomware(一种加密勒索软件木马)。受害者可能已通过使用垃圾邮件来将Matrix Ransomware发送到他们的计算机,该垃圾邮件中包含损坏的文件附件,这些附件使用宏脚本下载。并将Matrix Ransomware安装到受害者的计算机上。 Matrix Ransomware有两个版本,均用于加密受害者的文件,然后受害者应支付赎金,以获取解密密钥。在大多数加密勒索软件木马中都观察到此行为。 Matrix Ransomware可以轻松识别其加密的文件,因为Matrix Ransomware会将文件扩展名“ .matrix”添加到文件名中。

矩阵勒索软件攻击的后果是什么

诸如Matrix Ransomware之类的特洛伊木马使用强大的加密算法来使文件无法访问。 Matrix Ransomware将以用户生成的文件作为攻击目标,其中可能包括具有以下扩展名的文件:

.3dm,.3g2,.3gp,.7zip,.aaf,.accdb,.aep,.aepx,.aet,.ai,.aif,.as,.as3,.asf,.asp,.asx,.avi ,.bmp,.c,.class,.cpp,.cs,.csv,.dat,.db,.dbf,.doc,.docb,.docm,.docx,.dot,.dotm,.dotx 、. dwg,.dxf,.efx,.eps,.fla,.flv,.gif,.h,.idml,.iff,.indb,.indd,.indl,.indt,.inx,.jar,.java, .jpeg,.jpg,.js,.m3u,.m3u8,.m4u,.max,.mdb,.mid,.mkv,.mov,.mp3,.mp4,.mpa,.mpeg,.mpg,.msg ,.pdb,.pdf,.php,.plb,.pmd,.png,.pot,.potm,.potx,.ppam,.ppj,.pps,.ppsm,.ppsx,.ppt,.pptm 、. pptx,.prel,.prproj,.ps,.psd,.py,.ra,.rar,.raw,.rb,.rtf,.sdf,.sdf,.ses,.sldm,.sldx,.sql, .svg,.swf,.tif,.txt,.vcf,.vob,.wav,.wma,.wmv,.wpd,.wps,.xla,.xlam,.xll,.xlm,.xls,.xlsb ,.xlsm,.xlsx,.xlt,.xltm,.xltx,.xlw,.xml,.xqx,.xqx,.zip。

Matrix Ransomware完成文件加密之后,Windows操作系统将无法识别这些文件,并且当PC用户尝试打开它们时,它们将显示为空白图标并显示错误消息。 Matrix勒索软件将要求受害者通过电子邮件联系其操作员以支付大量赎金,以换取解密密钥。 Matrix Ransomware的不同变体使用不同的联系电子邮件,并且以下电子邮件地址已与Matrix Ransomware关联:

files4463@tuta.io
files4463@protonmail.ch
files4463@gmail.com
restorfile@tutanote.com
restorfile@protonmail.com
restorfile@qq.com

Matrix Ransomware以HTA文件的形式提供赎金记录,该文件在受感染的计算机上显示以下消息:

'您的文件发生了什么?
您的文档,数据库,备份,网络文件夹和其他重要文件已使用RSA-2048和AES-128密码加密。有关RSA和AES的更多信息,可以在这里找到:
h [tt] p://en.wikipedia [。] org / wiki / RSA(密码系统)
h [tt] p://en.wikipedia [。] org / wiki /高级加密标准
这意味着您将无法再使用它们,除非使用您的个人解密密钥对它们进行解密!没有您的个人密钥和特殊软件,数据恢复是不可能的!如果您遵循我们的指示,我们保证您可以快速安全地解密所有文件!
如果您想恢复文件,请写信给我们:[STRING OF EMAILS]在邮件的主题行中写上您的个人ID:[编辑]

我们建议您在每3封电子邮件中发送一条消息,原因是由于多种原因该消息可能无法到达其预期的收件人!请用英语写信给我们或使用专业的翻译!如果要恢复文件,则必须支付比特币解密费用。价格取决于您写给我们的速度。
如果您喜欢实时消息传递,可以通过网页h [tt] ps:// bitmsg [。] me从网络浏览器向我们发送Bitmessages。

处理Matrix Ransomware

不幸的是,一旦Matrix Ransomware对文件进行加密,它们将不再可恢复。因此,有必要让计算机用户采取措施以确保他们能够优先保护自己的数据免受这些威胁。抵御Matrix Ransomware等威胁的最佳方法是进行文件备份,这将使受害者有机会恢复其文件。

更新2018年11月14日— Matrix-FASTA勒索软件

Matrix-FASTA勒索软件是Matrix系列的变种,Matrix系列是于2018年4月出现的一系列勒索软件威胁,自首次发布以来已出现各种变体。像其他Matrix变体一样,Matrix-FASTA勒索软件旨在加密受害者的文件,然后要求受害者支付赎金。至关重要的是,计算机用户必须采取措施保护其PC免受Matrix-FASTA勒索软件和类似攻击的侵害。

Matrix-FASTA勒索软件木马如何工作

通常通过使用垃圾邮件附件将Matrix-FASTA勒索软件传送到受害者的计算机。将Matrix-FASTA勒索软件安装到受害者的计算机上之后,Matrix-FASTA勒索软件将加密在受害者的计算机上找到的用户生成的文件,其中可能包括带有以下文件扩展名的文件:

.jpg,.jpeg,.raw,.tif,.gif,.png,.bmp,.3dm,.max,.accdb,.db,.dbf,.mdb,.pdb,.sql,.dwg,.dxf ,.cpp,.cs,.h,.php,.asp,.rb,.java,.jar,.class,.py,.js,.aaf,.aep,.aepx,.plb,.prel 、. prproj,.aet,.ppj,.psd,.indd,.indl,.indt,.indb,.inx,.idml,.pmd,.xqx,.xqx,.ai,.eps,.ps,.svg, .swf,.fla,.as3,.as,.txt,.doc,.dot,.docx,.docm,.dotx,.dotm,.docb,.rtf,.wpd,.wps,.msg,.pdf ,.xls,.xlt,.xlm,.xlsx,.xlsm,.xltx,.xltm,.xlsb,.xla,.xlam,.xll,.xlw,.ppt,.pot,.pps,.pptx 、. pptm,.potx,.potm,.ppam,.ppsx,.ppsm,.sldx,.sldm,.wav,.mp3,.aif,.iff,.m3u,.m4u,.mid,.mpa,.wma, .ra,.avi,.mov,.mp4,.3gp,.mpeg,.3g2,.asf,.asx,.flv,.mpg,.wmv,.vob,.m3u8,.dat,.csv,.efx ,.sdf,.vcf,.xml,.ses,.qbw,.qbb,.qbm,.qbi,.qbr,.cnt,.des,.v30,.qbo,.ini,.lgb,.qwc 、. qbp,.aif,.qba,.tlg,.qbx,.qby,.1pa,.qpd,.txt,.set,.iif,.nd,.rtp,.tlg,.wav,.qsm,.qss, .qst,.fx0,.fx1,.mx0,.fpx,.fxr,.fim,.ptb,.ai,.pfb,.cgn,.vsd 、. cdr,.cmx,.cpt,.csl,.cur,.des,.dsf,.ds4,.drw,.eps,.ps,.prn,.gif,.pcd,.pct,.pcx,.plt ,.rif,.svg,.swf,.tga,.tiff,.psp,.ttf,.wpd,.wpg,.wi,.raw,.wmf,.txt,.cal,.cpx,.shw 、. clk,.cdx,.cdt,.fpx,.fmv,.img,.gem,.xcf,.pic,.mac,.met,.pp4,.pp5,.ppf,.nap,.pat,.ps, .prn,.sct,.vsd,.wk3,.wk4,.xpm,.zip,.rar。

Matrix-FASTA勒索软件攻击将以某种方式损坏目标数据,如果没有解密密钥,该数据将无法恢复,这意味着数据可能会永久丢失。犯罪分子将试图迫使受害者支付赎金,以换取Matrix-FASTA勒索软件攻击所破坏的数据。

Matrix-FASTA勒索软件如何交付给受害者

Matrix-FASTA勒索软件变种于2018年11月14日首次发现。该勒索软件家族中有多个变种已于2018年发布。与其他Matrix变种一样,Matrix-FASTA Ransomware的最常见交付方式为受害者的计算机通过垃圾邮件附件,该附件使用嵌入式宏脚本将Matrix-FASTA勒索软件下载并安装到受害者的计算机上。要求受害者提供付款的Matrix-FASTA勒索软件赎金票据要求受害者通过电子邮件地址“ fastbk@qq.com”与罪犯联系,以恢复受影响的数据。 Matrix-FASTA勒索软件通过将文件扩展名“ .FASTA”添加到受攻击加密的每个文件中,来标记受攻击加密的文件。 Matrix-FASTA Ransomware还将通过用Matrix-FASTA Ransomware电子邮件联系地址和一串加密字符替换文件名来重命名由攻击加密的文件。典型的Matrix-FASTA勒索软件赎金在300到1,000美元之间。

保护您的数据免受Matrix-FASTA Ransomware等威胁的威胁

防范Matrix-FASTA Ransomware等威胁的最佳方法是将文件备份存储在安全的位置。安全专家建议计算机用户将其数据的备份副本存储在云或外部存储设备中。除文件备份外,计算机用户还应使用安全程序拦截Matrix-FASTA Ransomware感染,或在安装后将其删除。

2018年10月22日更新— Matrix-GMPF勒索软件

Matrix-GMPF勒索软件被归类为Matrix Ransomware的略微修改版本,该版本于2018年4月发布。该新变体已于2018年10月22日报告并已添加到AV数据库。网络威胁以显示给受感染用户的文件标记“ .GMPF”命名。较早的版本具有类似的名称,包括Matrix-THDA勒索软件Matrix-ITLOCK勒索软件 。 Matrix-GMPF勒索软件旨在使用AES和RSA密码,并使受感染设备上的数据不可读。然后,向用户显示一个名为“#GMPF-README#.txt”的文本文件,并要求将电子邮件发送到“ GetMyPass@qq.com”电子邮件帐户。对该威胁进行了编程,以通过TOR网络将解密密钥发送给程序员,并防止第三方发现对受影响数据进行解密的方法。您可以通过查看加密文件的名称来识别它们。 Matrix-GMPF勒索软件木马使用[GetMyPass@qq.com]模型。<8个随机字符8个随机字符> .GMPF-标记加密对象。例如,“ Hanuman.pptx”可以重命名为[GetMyPass@qq.com] .Z2VuZXJp-YwdGV89t.GMPF。”如上所述,勒索消息以“#GMPF-README#.txt”的形式提供,您可以将其加载到Microsoft的记事本中并阅读以下内容:

'您的文件发生了什么?
您的文档,数据库,备份,网络文件夹和其他重要文件已使用RSA-2048和AES-128密码加密。有关RSA和AES的更多信息,可以在这里找到:
h [tt] p://en.wikipedia [。] org / wiki / RSA(密码系统)
h [tt] p://en.wikipedia [。] org / wiki /高级加密标准
这意味着您将无法再使用它们,除非使用您的个人解密密钥对它们进行解密!没有您的个人密钥和特殊软件,数据恢复是不可能的!如果您遵循我们的指示,我们保证您可以快速安全地解密所有文件!
如果要还原文件,请给我们写电子邮件:getmypass@qq.com'

威胁作者经常切换电子邮件帐户,以保持其运行正常并避免向电子邮件服务提供商发出警报。建议启动数据备份以从潜在攻击中恢复。 Matrix-GMPF勒索软件的检测名称包括:

通用勒索矩阵
Ransom.Agent!8.6B7(云)
勒索矩阵S3765495
Ransom_MATRIX.THAOOBAH
Troj / Matrix-K
W32 / Agent!tr
W32 / Generic.AC.41B59B!tr
恶意软件(AI得分= 100)

2018年12月20日更新— Matrix-PRCP勒索软件

安全研究人员在2018年圣诞节前的最后几天确定了Matrix Ransomware的新变种Matrix-PRCP Ransomware。 Matrix的新分支将.PRCP扩展名应用于加密文件。

赎金记录包含在名为“#README_PRCP#.rtf”的文件中。受害人可以用来与他们联系的新变种作者使用的电子邮件是radrigoman @ protonmail [。] com。看来此电子邮件也以勒索软件扰乱文件的方式使用。 Matrix-PRCP勒索软件使用以下模式'[radrigoman@protonmail.com]。[随机字符串]-[随机字符串] .PRCP重命名已加密的所有文件。

2019年1月14日更新— Matrix-GRHAN勒索软件

Matrix-GRHAN勒索软件是对2018年4月开始出现的Matrix加密木马产品线的较小更新。与早期迭代相比,Matrix-GRHAN勒索软件略有不同,唯一的区别是它使用了新的重命名模式。该威胁将修改后的AES-256密码应用于图像,音频,视频,文本和数据库。 Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware处理的文件由模型[[greenelephan@qq.com]后面的普通白色图标和功能名称表示。 .GRHAN。”例如,“ Jotunheim.docx”可能重命名为“ [greenelephan@qq.com] .VC6NJ9-XWI88P.GRHAN”,并且用户无法通过使用卷影快照从攻击中恢复。已知手头的威胁将使用Shadow Volume Service并删除系统还原点以及最近创建的Shadow Volume快照。据报道,Matrix-GRHAN勒索软件将“!README_GRHAN!.rtf”丢弃到受感染的系统中,并提供以下消息:

'您的文件发生了什么?
您的文档,数据库,备份,网络文件夹和其他重要文件已使用RSA-2048和AES-128密码加密。有关RSA和AES的更多信息,可以在这里找到:
h [tt] p://en.wikipedia [。] org / wiki / RSA(密码系统)
h [tt] p://en.wikipedia [。] org / wiki /高级加密标准

这意味着您将无法再使用它们,除非使用您的个人解密密钥对它们进行解密!没有您的个人密钥和特殊软件,数据恢复是不可能的!如果您遵循我们的指示,我们保证您可以快速安全地解密所有文件!
如果要还原文件,请给我们写信至:greenelephan@qq.com'

Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware木马可能会干扰数据库管理器和某些备份管理器的工作。网络威胁旨在渗透并在公司网络,服务器场和小型企业网络上运行。建议确保没有通过不安全连接连接到Internet的开放端口和服务。不建议通过'greenelephan@qq.com'和其他与Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware相关的渠道联系勒索软件运营商。如果您已感染Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware,则应使用干净的备份并运行完整的系统扫描。认证专家和可信赖的安全产品应有助于消除这种威胁。

技术信息

文件系统详情

矩阵勒索软件创建以下文件:
# 文件名 大小 MD5 检测计数
1 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\ww8PfqUBW5TGCvKS.hta 3,231 357ebe43792548be1256e67a8813ff36 70
2 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\9JE37AzfEtD9kFBu.hta 3,231 b0bd20328f7f8821206c874dde831b79 54
3 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\L3MTf6EPeGluJglT.hta 3,239 b0f28cf9f05c5e25c20f04013fb6a696 46
4 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\7icVUurqwSbTQtQG.hta 3,231 c01b3084158ead651be3d6b006c31ddb 43
5 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\hNOnIcjB1CUyQdch.hta 3,231 b9649f26c37cb853b6d299a28db545bb 34
6 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\nlWMQ8hHi64nwULM.hta 3,231 31cbcf227f72ed21e6c4464f507de6df 34
7 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\xNMdZRgR14KE277A.hta 3,231 a927a6983d9836760c9d0d185152f480 28
8 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\K5iZLnStEn3CsiGf.hta 3,231 dbfa225d7f12f37f0174d8932e1caba2 27
9 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\N9j8i4izeKqJNWw0.hta 3,239 e7d1927faef12edf45a3638cf3f8b8b2 26
10 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\Bwbs92eNScj8boVR.hta 3,231 c71f3eefb61b981954235bf0076d3f0b 25
11 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\MwcHhEltJeCQfIX3.hta 3,239 e84253cda0b507e1349de162a14e3f5e 25
12 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\BjtY2tiEvEPe3Ry2.hta 3,231 1cf10df2bb9a5b11801fc4274a76a08a 25
13 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\MLJbvD3qyJb4zIH0.hta 3,231 e43fa0ca398b13ac402214e07b4c48e7 25
14 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\CHnXlFujjUUky3bQ.hta 3,239 65e45e01bb979e4a7d66fa6b4a43b182 20
15 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\EiQFMggycluaM2KN.hta 3,231 88cf3be3d48adc65412d9ccc8675c723 20
16 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\xicv4xv3q21J45Wa.hta 3,231 c38d23e5779785cc13b1b92b1e4ab7c7 19
17 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\bySuMRhTosRxNSVK.hta 3,231 8c5b40e05cefde9fc15ff3e37f02c7b7 18
18 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\6GwJaYZhHMU12p5k.hta 3,239 f5ce39d833f444821c983e4729388c55 18
19 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\uuHw7WEyukJ53uIF.hta 3,231 9a3a780e1509f2f7ebd69bd4b5fd9e96 18
20 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\xz8GmuIomid3j8xA.hta 3,231 8a7aee85ee76f85128b6cec0b0a39658 17
21 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\ebIxNHzdfyPxdNEi.hta 3,231 2ba8f7c88debee948b54f4d278799c27 17
22 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\8J8Nq13d3SEnLFg5.hta 3,231 b0139d446e979eeac438789d89035013 17
23 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\LARmeOIF7pqvE2Id.hta 3,231 63a90494f3dbde0be1c6e966568e6bb9 17
24 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\EPf93mYqDG8pOCfZ.hta 3,239 5a6a4836670229fc3b83fa210c649d1b 16
25 %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\ZDc4hrKMsjl8VvzD.hta 3,231 bac966c75a8034f4e4d9c3aef5227913 16
26 %SYSTEMDRIVE%\users\beto\desktop\thda34.exe 1,244,672 5fe965be88ad7d3ab0eac153930cb35c 5
27 %SYSTEMDRIVE%\users\almacen\desktop\sysfd.exe 4,516,352 66c7ca7b642a531ea1f9bf611ef8f42b 2
28 file.exe 337,920 e4e2aa6df9a5ca1e7942472a13bcd79d 1
更多文件

注册表详情

矩阵勒索软件创建以下注册表条目:
File name without path
!README_GMAN!.rtf
!README_THDA!.rtf
#KOK8_README#.rtf
#README_EMAN50#.rtf

网站免责声明

Enigmasoftware.com与本文提到的恶意软件创建者或发行者没有关联、赞助或拥有。不要以任何方式将本文与推广或认可恶意软件相关联,将其误解或混淆。我们的目的是提供信息,以指导计算机用户如何借助SpyHunter和/或本文提供的手动删除说明来检测并最终从计算机中删除恶意软件。

本文按“原样”提供,仅用于教育信息。按照本文的任何说明进行操作,即表示您同意受免责声明的约束。我们不保证本文将帮助您完全消除计算机上的恶意软件威胁。间谍软件定期更改,因此,很难通过手动方式完全清洁受感染的计算机。

发表评论

请不要将此评论系统用于支持或结算问题。 若要获取SpyHunter技术支持,请通过SpyHunter打开技术支持问题直接联系我们的技术团队。 有关结算问题,请参考“结算问题?”页面。 有关一般查询(投诉,法律,媒体,营销,版权),请访问我们的"查询和反馈"页面。

Matrix Ransomware

Matrix Ransomware Description

PC security researchers observed the Matrix Ransomware, an encryption ransomware Trojan, on April 3, 2018. Victims may have the Matrix Ransomware delivered to their machines through the use of spam email messages, which will contain corrupted file attachments, which use macro scripts to download and install the Matrix Ransomware onto the victim's computer. The Matrix Ransomware has two versions, both used to encrypt the victim's files, and then a ransom should be paid by the victims to be given a decryption key. This behavior is observed in most encryption ransomware Trojans. The Matrix Ransomware makes it easy to recognize the files it encrypts because the Matrix Ransomware will add the file extension '.matrix' to the files' names.

What are the Consequences of a Matrix Ransomware Attack

Trojans like the Matrix Ransomware use strong encryption algorithms to make the files inaccessible. The Matrix Ransomware will target the user-generated file in its attack, which may include files with the following extensions:

.3dm, .3g2, .3gp, .7zip, .aaf, .accdb, .aep, .aepx, .aet, .ai, .aif, .as, .as3, .asf, .asp, .asx, .avi, .bmp, .c, .class, .cpp, .cs, .csv, .dat, .db, .dbf, .doc, .docb, .docm, .docx, .dot, .dotm, .dotx, .dwg, .dxf, .efx, .eps, .fla, .flv, .gif, .h, .idml, .iff, .indb, .indd, .indl, .indt, .inx, .jar, .java, .jpeg, .jpg, .js, .m3u, .m3u8, .m4u, .max, .mdb, .mid, .mkv, .mov, .mp3, .mp4, .mpa, .mpeg, .mpg, .msg, .pdb, .pdf, .php, .plb, .pmd, .png, .pot, .potm, .potx, .ppam, .ppj, .pps, .ppsm, .ppsx, .ppt, .pptm, .pptx, .prel, .prproj, .ps, .psd, .py, .ra, .rar, .raw, .rb, .rtf, .sdf, .sdf, .ses, .sldm, .sldx, .sql, .svg, .swf, .tif, .txt, .vcf, .vob, .wav, .wma, .wmv, .wpd, .wps, .xla, .xlam, .xll, .xlm, .xls, .xlsb, .xlsm, .xlsx, .xlt, .xltm, .xltx, .xlw, .xml, .xqx, .xqx, .zip.

After the Matrix Ransomware has finished encrypting the files, the Windows operating system will not recognize these files, and they will appear as blank icons and display error messages when the PC user attempts to open them. The Matrix Ransomware will demand that the victim contacts its operators via email to pay a substantial ransom in exchange for the decryption key. Different variants of the Matrix Ransomware use different contact emails, and the following email addresses have been associated with the Matrix Ransomware:

files4463@tuta.io
files4463@protonmail.ch
files4463@gmail.com
restorfile@tutanote.com
restorfile@protonmail.com
restorfile@qq.com

The Matrix Ransomware delivers its ransom note in the form of an HTA file that displays the following message on the infected computer:

'WHAT HAPPENED WITH YOUR FILES?
Your documents, databases, backups, network folders and other important files are encrypted with RSA-2048 and AES-128 ciphers. More information about the RSA and AES can be found here:
h[tt]p://en.wikipedia[.]org/wiki/RSA (cryptosystem)
h[tt]p://en.wikipedia[.]org/wiki/Advanced Encryption Standard
It means that you will not be able to access them anymore until they are decrypted with your personal decryption key! Without your personal key and special software data recovery is impossible! If you will follow our instructions, we guarantee that you can decrypt all your files quickly and safely!
If you want to restore your files, please write us to the e-mails: [STRING OF EMAILS] In subject line of your message write your personal ID: [EDITED]
We recommend you to send your message ON EACH of OUR 3 EMAILS, due to the fact that the message may not reach their intended recipient for a variety of reasons! Please, write us in English or use professional translator! If you want to restore your files, you have to pay for decryption in Bitcoins. The price depends on how fast you write to us.
If you prefer live messaging you can send us Bitmessages from a web browser through the webpage h[tt]ps://bitmsg[.]me.'

Dealing with the Matrix Ransomware

Unfortunately, once the Matrix Ransomware encrypts the files, they will no longer be recoverable. Because of this, it is necessary that computer users take steps to ensure that they have protected their data from these threats preemptively. The best protection against threats like the Matrix Ransomware is to have file backups, which will give the victims the opportunity to recover their files.

Update November 14th, 2018 — Matrix-FASTA Ransomware

The Matrix-FASTA Ransomware is a variant in the Matrix family, a family of ransomware threats that emerged in April 2018, and have seen various variants since their initial release. The Matrix-FASTA Ransomware, like other Matrix variants, is designed to encrypt the victims' files and then demand a ransom payment from the victim. It is crucial that computer users take steps to protect their PCs from the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware and similar attacks.

How the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware Trojan Works

The Matrix-FASTA Ransomware is typically delivered to the victim's computer through the use of spam email attachments. Once the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware has been installed onto the victim's computer, the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware will encrypt the user-generated files that it finds on the victim's computer, which may include files with the following file extensions:

.jpg, .jpeg, .raw, .tif, .gif, .png, .bmp, .3dm, .max, .accdb, .db, .dbf, .mdb, .pdb, .sql, .dwg, .dxf, .cpp, .cs, .h, .php, .asp, .rb, .java, .jar, .class, .py, .js, .aaf, .aep, .aepx, .plb, .prel, .prproj, .aet, .ppj, .psd, .indd, .indl, .indt, .indb, .inx, .idml, .pmd, .xqx, .xqx, .ai, .eps, .ps, .svg, .swf, .fla, .as3, .as, .txt, .doc, .dot, .docx, .docm, .dotx, .dotm, .docb, .rtf, .wpd, .wps, .msg, .pdf, .xls, .xlt, .xlm, .xlsx, .xlsm, .xltx, .xltm, .xlsb, .xla, .xlam, .xll, .xlw, .ppt, .pot, .pps, .pptx, .pptm, .potx, .potm, .ppam, .ppsx, .ppsm, .sldx, .sldm, .wav, .mp3, .aif, .iff, .m3u, .m4u, .mid, .mpa, .wma, .ra, .avi, .mov, .mp4, .3gp, .mpeg, .3g2, .asf, .asx, .flv, .mpg, .wmv, .vob, .m3u8, .dat, .csv, .efx, .sdf, .vcf, .xml, .ses, .qbw, .qbb, .qbm, .qbi, .qbr , .cnt, .des, .v30, .qbo, .ini, .lgb, .qwc, .qbp, .aif, .qba, .tlg, .qbx, .qby , .1pa, .qpd, .txt, .set, .iif, .nd, .rtp, .tlg, .wav, .qsm, .qss, .qst, .fx0, .fx1, .mx0, .fpx, .fxr, .fim, .ptb, .ai, .pfb, .cgn, .vsd, .cdr, .cmx, .cpt, .csl, .cur, .des, .dsf, .ds4, , .drw, .eps, .ps, .prn, .gif, .pcd, .pct, .pcx, .plt, .rif, .svg, .swf, .tga, .tiff, .psp, .ttf, .wpd, .wpg, .wi, .raw, .wmf, .txt, .cal, .cpx, .shw, .clk, .cdx, .cdt, .fpx, .fmv, .img, .gem, .xcf, .pic, .mac, .met, .pp4, .pp5, .ppf, .nap, .pat, .ps, .prn, .sct, .vsd, .wk3, .wk4, .xpm, .zip, .rar.

The Matrix-FASTA Ransomware attack will damage the targeted data in a way that it will not be recoverable without the decryption key, which means that it may be lost permanently. The criminals will attempt to force the victim to pay a ransom in exchange for the data compromised by the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware attack.

How the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware is Delivered to Its Victims

The Matrix-FASTA Ransomware variant was first observed on November 14, 2018. There have been several variants in this ransomware family that have been released in 2018. Like other Matrix variants, the most common way in which the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware is delivered to victims' computers through spam email attachments, which use embedded macro scripts to download and install the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware onto the victim's computer. The Matrix-FASTA Ransomware ransom note, which demands payment from the victim, asks the victim to contact the criminals via the email address 'fastbk@qq.com' to restore the affected data. The Matrix-FASTA Ransomware marks the files encrypted by the attack by adding the file extension '.FASTA' to each file encrypted by the attack. The Matrix-FASTA Ransomware also will rename the files encrypted by the attack by replacing the files' names with the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware email contact address and a string of encrypted characters. A typical Matrix-FASTA Ransomware ransom is in the 300 to 1,000 USD range.

Protecting Your Data from Threats Like the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware

The best protection against threats like the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware is to have file backups stored in a safe location. Security specialists advise computer users to have backup copies of their data stored either on the cloud or an external memory device. Apart from file backups, computer users also should use a security program to intercept the Matrix-FASTA Ransomware infection or remove it once it has been installed.

Update October 22nd, 2018 — Matrix-GMPF Ransomware

The Matrix-GMPF Ransomware is categorized as a slightly modified version of the Matrix Ransomware that was released in April of 2018. The new variant was reported on October 22nd, 2018 and added to AV databases. The cyber-threat is named after the file marker shown to compromised users — '.GMPF.' Earlier versions featured similar names and included the Matrix-THDA Ransomware and the Matrix-ITLOCK Ransomware. The Matrix-GMPF Ransomware is crafted to use the AES and RSA ciphers and make the data on the infected devices unreadable. Then, the users are shown a text file called '#GMPF-README#.txt' and asked to send an email to the 'GetMyPass@qq.com' email account. The threat is programmed to send the decryption key to the programmers via the TOR Network and prevent third parties from uncovering a way to decrypt the affected data. You can recognize the encrypted files by looking at their names. The Matrix-GMPF Ransomware Trojan uses the model — [GetMyPass@qq.com].<8 random chars-8random chars>.GMPF — to mark the encrypted objects. For example, 'Hanuman.pptx' may be renamed to [GetMyPass@qq.com].Z2VuZXJp-YwdGV89t.GMPF.' As mentioned above, the ransom message is provided as '#GMPF-README#.txt,' which you can load in Microsoft's Notepad and read the following:

'WHAT HAPPENED WITH YOUR FILES?
Your documents, databases, backups, network folders and other important files are encrypted with RSA-2048 and AES-128 ciphers. More information about the RSA and AES can be found here:
h[tt]p://en.wikipedia[.]org/wiki/RSA (cryptosystem)
h[tt]p://en.wikipedia[.]org/wiki/Advanced Encryption Standard
It means that you will not be able to access them anymore until they are decrypted with your personal decryption key! Without your personal key and special software data recovery is impossible! If you will follow our instructions, we guarantee that you can decrypt all your files quickly and safely!
If you want to restore your files, please write us to the e-mails: getmypass@qq.com'

The threat authors switch email accounts often as a way to keep their operations running and avoid raising alarms with email service providers. It is advised to boot data backups to recover from potential attacks. Detection names for the Matrix-GMPF Ransomware include:

Generic.Ransom.Matrix.B38FC644
Ransom.Agent!8.6B7 (CLOUD)
Ransom.Matrix.S3765495
Ransom_MATRIX.THAOOBAH
Troj/Matrix-K
W32/Agent!tr
W32/Generic.AC.41B59B!tr
malware (ai score=100)

Update December 20th, 2018 — Matrix-PRCP Ransomware

Security researchers pinpointed a new variant of the Matrix Ransomware in the last few days before Christmas 2018 called Matrix-PRCP Ransomware. The new offshoot of Matrix applies the .PRCP extension to the encrypted files.

The ransom note is contained in a file named "#README_PRCP#.rtf." The email used by the authors of the new variant that victims can use to contact them is radrigoman@protonmail[.]com. It appears this email is also used in the way the ransomware scrambles files. The Matrix-PRCP Ransomware renames all the files that it has encrypted by using the following pattern '[radrigoman@protonmail.com].[random character string]-[random character string].PRCP.

Update January 14th, 2019 — Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware

The Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware is a minor update to the Matrix line of encryption Trojans that began appearing in April 2018. The Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware differs very slightly compared to earlier iterations, and the only notable difference is that it uses a new rename pattern. The threat applies a modified AES-256 cipher to images, audio, video, text and databases. The files that are processed by the Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware are represented by generic white icons and feature names following the model '[greenelephan@qq.com]..GRHAN.' For example, 'Jotunheim.docx' may be renamed to '[greenelephan@qq.com].VC6NJ9-XWI88P.GRHAN' and the users are unable to recover from the attack by using the Shadow Volume snapshots. The threat at hand is known to use the Shadow Volume Service and delete the System Restore points, as well as recently created Shadow Volume snapshots. The Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware is reported to drop '!README_GRHAN!.rtf' to the infected systems and offer the following message:

'WHAT HAPPENED WITH YOUR FILES?
Your documents, databases, backups, network folders and other important files are encrypted with RSA-2048 and AES-128 ciphers. More information about the RSA and AES can be found here:
h[tt]p://en.wikipedia[.]org/wiki/RSA (cryptosystem)
h[tt]p://en.wikipedia[.]org/wiki/Advanced Encryption Standard
It means that you will not be able to access them anymore until they are decrypted with your personal decryption key! Without your personal key and special software data recovery is impossible! If you will follow our instructions, we guarantee that you can decrypt all your files quickly and safely!
If you want to restore your files, please write us to the e-mails: greenelephan@qq.com'

The Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware Trojan may interfere with the work of database managers and some backup managers. The cyber-threat is designed to infiltrate and run on company networks, server farms and small business networks. It is recommended to make sure that there are no open ports and services that are connected to the Internet over insecure connections. It is not recommended to contact the ransomware operators via 'greenelephan@qq.com' and other channels that may be associated with the Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware. You should use clean backups and run complete system scans if you have been infected with the Matrix-GRHAN Ransomware. The removal of this threat should be facilitated by certified experts and trusted security products.

Do You Suspect Your PC May Be Infected with Matrix Ransomware & Other Threats? Scan Your PC with SpyHunter

SpyHunter is a powerful malware remediation and protection tool designed to help provide PC users with in-depth system security analysis, detection and removal of a wide range of threats like Matrix Ransomware as well as a one-on-one tech support service. Download SpyHunter's FREE Malware Remover
Note: SpyHunter's scanner is only for malware detection. If SpyHunter detects malware on your PC, you will need to purchase SpyHunter's malware removal tool to remove the malware threats. Read more on SpyHunter. Free Remover allows you to run a one-off scan and receive, subject to a 48-hour waiting period, one remediation and removal. Free Remover subject to promotional details and Special Promotion Terms. To understand our policies, please also review our EULA, Privacy Policy and Threat Assessment Criteria. If you no longer wish to have SpyHunter installed on your computer, follow these steps to uninstall SpyHunter.

Security Doesn't Let You Download SpyHunter or Access the Internet?

Solutions: Your computer may have malware hiding in memory that prevents any program, including SpyHunter, from executing on your computer. Follow to download SpyHunter and gain access to the Internet:
  • Use an alternative browser. Malware may disable your browser. If you're using IE, for example, and having problems downloading SpyHunter, you should open Firefox, Chrome or Safari browser instead.
  • Use a removable media. Download SpyHunter on another clean computer, burn it to a USB flash drive, DVD/CD, or any preferred removable media, then install it on your infected computer and run SpyHunter's malware scanner.
  • Start Windows in Safe Mode. If you can not access your Window's desktop, reboot your computer in "Safe Mode with Networking" and install SpyHunter in Safe Mode.
  • IE Users: Disable proxy server for Internet Explorer to browse the web with Internet Explorer or update your anti-spyware program. Malware modifies your Windows settings to use a proxy server to prevent you from browsing the web with IE.
If you still can't install SpyHunter? View other possible causes of installation issues.

Related Posts

Site Disclaimer

Enigmasoftware.com is not associated, affiliated, sponsored or owned by the malware creators or distributors mentioned on this article. This article should NOT be mistaken or confused in being associated in any way with the promotion or endorsement of malware. Our intent is to provide information that will educate computer users on how to detect, and ultimately remove, malware from their PC with the help of SpyHunter and/or manual removal instructions provided on this article.

This article is provided "as is" and to be used for educational information purposes only. By following any instructions on this article, you agree to be bound by the disclaimer. We make no guarantees that this article will help you completely remove the malware threats on your PC. Spyware changes regularly; therefore, it is difficult to fully clean an infected machine through manual means.

Leave a Reply

Please DO NOT use this comment system for support or billing questions. For SpyHunter technical support requests, please contact our technical support team directly by opening a customer support ticket via your SpyHunter. For billing issues, please refer to our "Billing Questions or Problems?" page. For general inquiries (complaints, legal, press, marketing, copyright), visit our "Inquiries and Feedback" page.