如何刪除時間機器備份

Time Machine 是一款功能強大且實用的工具,可供 Mac 用戶使用。它可以輕鬆創建 Mac 系統的備份,在無數不同的情況下都可以挽救生命。它可以通過恢復到以前的時間點來幫助用戶處理嚴重的 macOS 問題,通過恢復過去的數據從惡意軟件攻擊中恢復,或者只是恢復意外刪除的文件。但是,Time Machine 創建的備份確實會佔用驅動器上的空間,為了釋放空間,用戶可能需要有效地刪除它們。

通過應用程序刪除 Time Machine 備份

  1. 將備份驅動器連接到 Mac。
  2. 從 Finder 菜單欄中啟動 Time Machine。
  3. 導航到您希望開始刪除備份的時間點。
  4. 找到要刪除的備份後,右鍵單擊 Finder 窗口或單擊 Finder 窗口工具欄中的齒輪圖標。
  5. 從可用選項中,選擇“刪除...的所有備份”
  6. 輸入您的管理員帳戶憑據。

通過終端刪除 Time Machine 備份

雖然終端乍一看似乎令人生畏,但它仍然是 Mac 上最強大的工具之一。終端通常可以在很短的時間內完成相同的任務。

  1. 轉到您的應用程序文件夾,然後是“實用程序”,然後啟動終端。
  2. 在終端窗口中鍵入tmutil命令以查看按日期排序的所有備份的列表。
  3. 現在,要刪除您選擇的特定備份,請鍵入sudo tmutil delete 後跟列表中顯示的所選備份的路徑。這種路徑的一個例子是/Volumes/TimeMachine/Backups.backupdb/MacintoshHD/YYYY-MM-DD-HHMMSS/
  4. 按鍵盤上的 Return 鍵刪除選定的備份。

擺脫 Time Machine 快照

如果 Time Machine 無法訪問專用備份驅動器,它將求助於創建快照。創建的快照保存在啟動驅動器上,並設置為在下次 Time Machine 自動與備份驅動程序建立連接時或在設置的時間段過去後刪除。此外,如果驅動器上的可用空間少於 20%,則不應創建快照。但是,有時系統可能會出現故障,導致快照保留在驅動器上並佔用不必要的空間。用戶可以通過相同的 tmutil 終端命令刪除它們。

  1. 啟動終端。
  2. 輸入 tmutil listlocalsnapshots/並點擊 Return。
  3. 您將看到快照列表。
  4. 要刪除選定的快照,請鍵入sudo tmutil deletelocalsnapshots 後跟特定日期。一個例子是tmutil deletelocalsnapshots 2021-07-15-002015
  5. 如果您看到一條消息,說明刪除本地快照 '2021-07-15-002015',則該快照已成功刪除。

用戶還可能希望阻止他們的 Mac 永遠創建快照。為此,請在終端中鍵入 sudo tmutil disablelocal命令,然後按鍵盤上的 Return。

How To Delete Time Machine Backups

Time Machine is an incredibly powerful and useful tool available to Mac users. It can easily create backups of the Mac system that can be a life-saver in a myriad of different situations. It can help users deal with a serious macOS issue by reverting to a previous point in time, recover from a malware attack by restoring past data, or simply restore files that have been deleted by accident. However, the backups created by Time Machine do take up space on the drive, and in a pinch to free up space users may need to delete them efficiently.

Removing Time Machine backups via the application

  1. Connect the backup drive to the Mac.
  2. Launch Time Machine from the Finder menu bar.
  3. Navigate to the point in time from which you wish to start deleting backups.
  4. Once you have located a backup you wish to delete, right-click on the Finder window or click the gear icon in the Finder window toolbar.
  5. From the available options, select 'Delete all backups of...'
  6. Enter your admin account credentials.

Deleting Time Machine backups via Terminal

While Terminal may seem intimidating at first glance, it remains one of the most powerful tools on a Mac. The Terminal can often achieve the same tasks in just a fraction of the time it would otherwise take. 

  1. Go to your Applications folder, then 'Utilities, and launch Terminal.
  2. Type the tmutil command in the Terminal window to see a list of all backups sorted by date.
  3. Now, to delete a specific backup that you have chose, type sudo tmutil delete followed by the path of the chosen backup displayed in the list. An example of such a path is  /Volumes/TimeMachine/Backups.backupdb/MacintoshHD/YYYY-MM-DD-HHMMSS/
  4. Press the Return key on your keyboard to delete the selected backup.

Getting rid of Time Machine Snapshots

If Time Machine is unable to reach the dedicated backup drive, it will resort to creating a Snapshot. The created Snapshot is saved on the boot drive and is set to be deleted the next time Time Machine establishes a connection with the backup driver automatically or after a set period has passed. Furthermore, Snapshot shouldn't be created if there is less than 20% free space on the drive. However, sometimes the system may malfunction leading to the Snapshot remaining on the drive and taking unnecessary space. Users can delete them via the same tmutil Terminal command.

  1. Launch Terminal.
  2. Type tmutil listlocalsnapshots/ and hit Return.
  3. You will see a list of snapshots.
  4. To delete a chosen snapshot, type sudo tmutil deletelocalsnapshots followed by the specific date. An example would be tmutil deletelocalsnapshots 2021-07-15-002015
  5. If you see a message stating Delete local snapshot '2021-07-15-002015' then the snapshot has been deleted successfully.

Users also may want to prevent their Macs from ever creating Snapshots. To do this, type the sudo tmutil disablelocal command in Terminal and press Return on your keyboard.