AtlantaSearch

AtlantaSearch说明

AtlantaSearch 是一个 PUP(潜在有害程序),旨在渗透用户的 Mac 系统。事实上,PUP 是通过不正当的分发技术传播的,这些技术隐藏了用户的注意力主要是。目标是在系统上不被注意地部署,然后通过不同的侵入行为为他们的创造者创造金钱收益。 PUP 的其他示例包括MacOSDefenderElementSignalProADBlocks

以 AtlantaSearch 为例,它配备了广告软件和浏览器劫持者功能。它生成的广告可以显示为弹出窗口、横幅、文本链接等。此外,侵入性广告可能会被注入到用户浏览的网站中目前,给人的印象是它们来自那里。虽然无疑令人讨厌,但与广告互动也可能带来重大风险。用户可能会被带到可疑的第三方网站,在那里他们可能会接触到在线策略、网络钓鱼计划等。

AtlantaSearch 的浏览器劫持功能将同时控制已安装的 Web 浏览器。通过修改他们的主页、新标签页和默认搜索引擎,PUP 将开始为推广页面生成人工流量。浏览器劫持者大多参与虚假搜索引擎的推广,AtlantaSearch 也不例外。它推广的页面无法产生任何有意义的结果,这就是为什么它会通过 search.yahoo.com 重定向用户的搜索查询。

最后,PUP 可能会悄悄监视用户的浏览活动。它可能会收集浏览数据以及设备详细信息,这些信息都将传输到远程服务器不断。为了避免他们的数据被未知的第三方利用,用户应该摆脱可能潜伏在他们设备上的任何 PUP。

AtlantaSearch

AtlantaSearch Description

AtlantaSearch is a PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program) that aims to infiltrate users' Mac systems. Indeed, PUPs are spread through underhanded distribution techniques that hide their installation from the user's attention predominantly. The goal is to get deployed unnoticed on the system and then generate monetary gains for their creators via different intrusive actions. Other examples of PUPs include MacOSDefender, ElementSignal and ProADBlocks.

In the case of AtlantaSearch, it is equipped with both adware and browser hijacker capabilities. The advertisements it generates could be presented as pop-ups, banners, in-text links and more. In addition, the intrusive advertisements could be injected into the sites viewed by the user currently, creating the impression that they originate from there. While undoubtedly annoying, engaging with the advertisements also could bring significant risks. Users could be taken to suspicious third-party websites where they could be exposed to online tactics, phishing schemes, etc.

The browser hijacker functionality of AtlantaSearch will in the meantime take control of the installed Web browsers. By modifying their homepage, new tab page, and default search engines, the PUP will start generating artificial traffic towards a promoted page. Browser hijackers are mostly involved in the promotion of fake search engines, and AtlantaSearch is not an exception. The page it promotes cannot generate any meaningful result and that is why it will redirect the user's search queries through search.yahoo.com.

Finally, the PUP could be spying on the browsing activities of the user silently. It may collect browsing data, as well as device details that will all be transmitted to a remote server continuously. To avoid having their data exploited by unknown third parties, users should get rid of any PUPs that might be lurking on their devices.