Xenomorph Android Malware

Xenomorph Android Malware說明

儘管仍在開發中,但一個強大的 Android 銀行木馬已成功滲透到 Google Play 商店並感染了超過 50,000 台設備。該威脅被 ThreatFabric 的專家追踪為 Xenomorph Android 惡意軟件,他們分析了其底層代碼和功能。根據他們的調查結果,Xenomorph 的主要目標是從受害者那裡收集敏感的銀行信息,儘管尚未完全完成,但它已經能夠針對來自歐洲國家的 56 家銀行。

應該注意的是,該威脅與另一個名為Alien的銀行木馬俱有某些代碼相似之處。這一事實可能意味著 Xenomorph 是先前外星人威脅的延續,或者開發人員已經在這兩者上進行了工作。

分佈和功能

為了繞過官方 Google Play 商店的保護,Xenomorph 背後的網絡犯罪分子使用了一個專用的滴管應用程序,該應用程序被歸類為“Gymdrop”滴管系列的一部分,該系列於 2021 年 11 月首次被發現。該應用程序被命名為“Fast Cleaner” ' 並試圖通過提升 Android 設備性能的承諾來吸引用戶。該應用程序lication 本身不包含任何威脅性有效載荷 - 它僅在安裝到受害者的設備上後才會獲取 Xenomorph 木馬。

一旦進入內部,惡意軟件就會請求接收輔助功能服務權限,然後它會迅速濫用該權限以獲取設備上的更多權限。最終,威脅將能夠攔截通知、SMS 消息並執行覆蓋攻擊。簡而言之,威脅可以獲取憑據和一次性密碼,從而破壞受害者的銀行和金融賬戶。

網絡安全專家預計 Xenomorph 將繼續發展。事實上,其開發人員採用的模塊化方法使他們能夠輕鬆添加更具侵入性的功能。即使是現在,威脅也有幾個涉及鍵盤記錄例程的命令和尚未完全實施的其他數據收集功能。

Xenomorph Android Malware

Xenomorph Android Malware Description

A potent Android banking Trojan has managed to infiltrate the Google Play Store and infect over 50, 000 devices, despite still being under development. The threat is tracked as the Xenomorph Android Malware by the experts at ThreatFabric, who have analyzed its underlying code and functionalities. According to their findings, Xenomorph's main goal is to collect sensitive banking information from its victims and despite not being entirely completed, it is already capable of targeting 56 banks from countries across Europe.

It should be noted that the threat shares certain code similarities with another banking Trojan named Alien. This fact could mean that Xenomorph is a continuation of the previous Alien threat or that a developer has worked on both.

Distribution and Functionality

To bypass the protections of the official Google Play Store, the cybercriminals behind Xenomorph used a dedicated dropper application that is being classified as part of the 'Gymdrop' dropper family, which was first discovered back in November 2021. The application was named 'Fast Cleaner' and tried to attract users with promises of boosting the performance of their Android devices. The application itself doesn't contain any threatening payloads - it fetches the Xenomorph Trojan only after being installed on the victim's device.

Once inside, the malware requests to receive Accessibility Service permissions, which it then promptly abuses to get even more permissions on the device. Ultimately, the threat will be able to intercept notifications, SMS messages and perform overlay attacks. In short, the threat can obtain credentials and one-time passwords allowing it to compromise the victim's banking and financial accounts.

Cybersecurity experts expect that Xenomorph will continue to evolve. Indeed, the modular approach adopted by its developers allows them to easily add more invasive features. Even now the threat has several commands referring to keylogging routines and additional data collection capabilities that have not been fully implemented.