ValidManager

ValidManager说明

ValidManager 是另一个针对 Mac 用户的 PUP(潜在有害程序)。与大多数此类应用程序一样,它也通过欺骗手段进行自我传播。更具体地说,已检测到 ValidManager 隐藏在虚假的 Adobe Flash Player 更新中。至于它的功能,它结合了广告软件和浏览器劫持者的功能。

实际上,这意味着应用程序被编程为在受影响的设备上运行侵入性广告活动。用户会注意到在浏览过程中出现的弹出窗口、横幅、优惠券、文本链接等急剧增加。广告可能会显示点击诱饵消息,试图引诱用户点击它们。这样做可能会触发强制重定向到不安全的第三方网站,例如网络钓鱼页面、操作各种在线策略的网站或推广其他 PUP 的域。

正如我们所说,ValidManager 的广告软件行为也伴随着浏览器劫持者特征。 PUP 将建立对用户 Web 浏览器的控制。更具体地说,应用程序可能针对主页、新页面选项卡和默认搜索引擎设置。这三个都可以重新分配,现在可以打开一个赞助地址,几乎在所有情况下,该地址都属于假搜索引擎。假引擎无法自行产生结果。当用户输入搜索查询时,它将被重定向到合法的引擎,例如 Yahoo、Bing、Chrome 等,或者被重定向到会显示充满广告链接的不可信结果的可疑引擎。

通过在 Mac 上安装 PUP,用户有被监视的风险。 PUP 通常配备数据收集例程,可以访问搜索历史记录、浏览历史记录和所有点击的 URL。此外,它还可以跟踪设备详细信息——IP 地址、地理位置、ISP(互联网服务提供商)等。

ValidManager

ValidManager Description

ValidManager is yet another PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program) that is being leveraged against Mac users. Like most apps of this type, it also spread itself via deceptive means. More specifically, ValidManager has been detected to hide inside fake Adobe Flash Player updates. As for its functionality, it combines the capabilities of adware with those of a browser hijacker. 

In practice, this means that the application is programmed to run an intrusive ad campaign on the affected devices. Users will notice a drastic increase in the pop-ups, banners, coupons, in-text links, etc, that appear during their browsing. The advertisements could display clickbait messages in an attempt to lure users into clicking on them. Doing so risks triggering a forced redirect to an unsafe third-party website such as phishing pages, sites operating various online tactics or domains promoting additional PUPs.

As we said, the adware behavior of ValidManager is also accompanied by browser hijacker traits. The PUP will establish control over the user's Web browser. To be more specific, the application might target the homepage, new page tab and the default search engine settings. All three could be reassigned to now open a sponsored address, which in nearly all cases belongs to a fake search engine. Fake engines are incapable of producing results on their own. When the user inputs a search query, it will be redirected to either a legitimate engine such as Yahoo, Bing, Chrome, etc. or to a dubious engine that will display untrustworthy results filled with ad links.

By having PUPs installed on their Mac, users risk being spied on. PUPs are oftentimes equipped with data-harvesting routines that can access the search history, browsing history and all clicked URLs. In addition, it also could track device details - IP address, geolocation, ISP (Internet Service Provider) and more.