Escobar Android Malware

Escobar Android Malware說明

Escobar Android 惡意軟件是一種功能強大的銀行木馬,擁有大量具有侵入性和威脅性的特徵和功能。此外,威脅仍在積極發展中,未來可能變得更具侵入性。應該注意的是,Escobar 並不是一種全新的惡意軟件。事實上,它似乎是對先前識別的稱為Aberebot的移動銀行木馬的更名。似乎在擴展了 Aberebot 的功能之後重要的是,威脅的開發者決定重新命名它。

仍在開發中

Escobar Android 惡意軟件的最初跡象可以追溯到 2022 年 2 月在俄語黑客論壇上的一篇帖子。該帖子詳細說明了 Escobar 被認為處於開發的 BETA 階段。因此,它的創建者願意以每月 3000 美元的價格向 5 位客戶提供威脅工具的訪問權限。候選人還可以免費測試木馬三天。威脅完全釋放後,價格將上漲至每月 5000 美元。一個月後,也就是 2022 年 3 月,安全研究人員發現 Escobar 威脅偽裝成 McAfee 應用程序。

不斷增長的功能列表

Escobar 銀行木馬利用覆蓋登錄表單來捕獲與選擇銀行應用程序的任何用戶交互lications 和網站,並收集受害者的憑據。到目前為止,該惡意軟件能夠針對分佈在 18 個國家/地區的 190 個不同的金融實體。此外,通過請求總共 25 個權限,Escobar 可以對被破壞的設備執行許多其他有害操作。

該威脅能夠讀取短信、錄製音頻、截取任意屏幕截圖、撥打電話、訪問設備的地理位置、收集通話記錄、關鍵日誌、通知,甚至是眾多用於 2FA(雙因素身份驗證)的 Google Authenticator 代碼服務。然後將所有收集的信息洩露到操作的命令和控制(C2、C&C)服務器。 Escobar Android 惡意軟件的開發人員正在濫用 VNC 查看器,這是一種用於跨平台屏幕共享的實用程序,以進一步擴大他們的範圍以及他們可以在受感染設備上執行的操作。

Escobar Android Malware

Escobar Android Malware Description

The Escobar Android malware is a powerful banking Trojan that boasts a significant set of intrusive and threatening features and capabilities. Furthermore, the threat continues to be under active development and could become even more invasive in the future. It should be noted that Escobar is not an entirely new malware strain. In fact, it appears to be a rebranding of a previously identified mobile banking Trojan known as Aberebot. It seems that after expanding the functionalities of Aberebot significantly, the developers of the threat decided to rebrand it.

Still in Development

The first signs of the Escobar Android malware can be traced back to a post on a Russian-speaking hacker forum from February 2022. The post detailed that Escobar is considered in the BETA phase of development. As such, its creators were willing to provide 5 customers with access to the threatening tool for $3000 per month. Candidates also were going to be able to test the Trojan for three days for free. Upon the full release of the threat, the price would be bumped up to $5000 per month. A month later, in March 2022, security researchers found the Escobar threat posing as a McAfee application.

Growing List of Functions

The Escobar banking Trojan utilizes overlay login forms to capture any user interactions with select banking applications and websites and collect the victim's credentials. So far, the malware is capable of targeting 190 different financial entities spread across 18 countries. In addition, by asking for a total of 25 permissions, Escobar can perform numerous other harmful actions on the breached devices.

The threat is capable of reading SMS, recording audio, taking arbitrary screenshots, making calls, accessing the device's geolocation, gathering call logs, key logs, notifications, and even Google Authenticator codes that are used in 2FA (two-factor authentication) by numerous services. All collected information is then exfiltrated to the Command-and-Control (C2, C&C) server of the operation. The developers of the Escobar Android malware are abusing VNC viewer, a utility for cross-platform screen sharing, to further expand their reach and the actions they can perform on the compromised device.