'We have detected a potential risk of unsecured connection' Pop-Ups

'We have detected a potential risk of unsecured connection' Pop-Ups Description

The 'We have detected a potential risk of unsecured connection' pop-ups are being delivered by several fraudulent websites that target Apple users. They operate in the usual way of other deceptive websites, but with the addition of a phishing element. Usually, when users land on such a website, they are presented with multiple fake claims that their devices have been infected with a Trojan or other malware threat. If users don't act fast and install the promoted application, they allegedly stand to suffer additional damage in the form of private data becoming available to third parties.

The initial stages of the 'We have detected a potential risk of unsecured connection' pop-ups tactic follow that script. A pop-up window is displayed that warns users about their Internet connection not being secure. The targeted users are told to follow the instructions that will be shown on the next page. There, a new pop-up window that will talk about a new version being released for the promoted VPN application will be generated. Allegedly, without that application, users stand to have various private information collected. However, instead of simply initiating a download of the application, 'We have detected a potential risk of unsecured connection' pop-ups include an intermediary step. Users are asked to provide a valid phone number that will supposedly be used to send a one-time SMS with a download/install link for the VPN software.

Do NOT provide phone numbers or any other private information to dubious websites. All of the data is most likely going to be collected and sold to third parties. At the same time, the submitted phone number can be charged with various SMS or phone call fees.

Users should always remember that no website can conduct a scan for malware threats or security issues on its own. Furthermore, even if the promoted application is legit, it should still be downloaded from the official app store and not from a dubious website.