SwitcherGuard

SwitcherGuard說明

SwitcherGuard 是另一個針對 Mac 用戶的可疑應用程序。由於其分發中涉及的欺騙策略,它被歸類為 PUP(潛在不需要的程序)。例如,信息安全研究人員已經註意到 SwitcherGuard 通過隱藏在 Adobe Flash Player 的虛假安裝程序中進行自我傳播。

該應用程序的核心功能結合了廣告軟件和瀏覽器劫持者的特徵。因此,SwitcherGuard 的主要目標是通過在其所在設備上運行侵入性廣告活動為其創作者創造金錢收益,同時還通過控制用戶的 Web 瀏覽器來推廣贊助鏈接。應將其投放的廣告視為高度可疑。很多時候,用戶在點擊後會被帶到有問題的第三方網站,在那裡他們可能會接觸到在線詐騙、網絡釣魚頁面等。

至於瀏覽器劫持者,它會修改首頁、新標籤頁和默認搜索引擎。受影響的設置將設置為打開贊助地址,通常是虛假搜索引擎的地址。假引擎不能自己產生結果。這就是為什麼他們要么將任何進行的搜索重定向到合法引擎,要么啟動可能導致更多可疑搜索引擎的重定向鏈。

然而,大多數 PUP 有另一個令人不安的方面——它們試圖監控用戶的瀏覽活動。諸如所有訪問過的站點、點擊的鏈接、搜索等信息可能會被收集、打包並上傳到遠程服務器。然後 PUP 的運營商可以決定如何準確地將收集到的數據貨幣化。

SwitcherGuard

SwitcherGuard Description

SwitcherGuard is another dubious application leveraged against Mac users. It is classified as a PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program) due to the deceptive tactics involved in its distribution. For example, infosec researchers have noticed that SwitcherGuard is spreading itself by hiding inside a fake installer for Adobe Flash Player.

The core functionalities of the app combine the characteristics of adware and a browser hijacker. As such, SwitcherGuard's primary goal is to generate monetary gains for its creators by running an intrusive advertising campaign on the devices it is present on while also promoting a sponsored link by taking control over the user's Web browser. The advertisements delivered by the should be regarded as highly suspicious. Quite often, after clicking on them, users are taken to questionable third-party websites where they can be exposed to online scams, phishing pages and more.

As for the browser hijacker, it will modify the homepage, new tab page, and the default search engine. The affected settings will be set to open a sponsored address, usually that of a fake search engine. Fake engines cannot produce results on their own. That is why they either redirect any conducted search to a legitimate engine or initiate a redirect chain that could lead to more dubious search engines.

However, most PUPs have another troubling aspect - they try to monitor the user's browsing activities. Information such as all visited sites, clicked links, searches, etc., might be collected, packaged, and uploaded to a remote server. The operators of the PUP can then decide on how exactly to monetize the harvested data.