ReceiverHelper

ReceiverHelper说明

ReceiverHelper 是一种 PUP(潜在有害程序),它既可以充当广告软件,也可以充当浏览器劫持者。该应用程序主要针对 Mac 用户,并依靠不正当的分发技术进行自我传播。用户在安装免费软件产品或未经证实来源的应用程序时应小心,因为其中打包的可能是各种入侵者应用程序,例如 ReceiverHelper。

如果用户在不知情的情况下允许其安装,该应用程序将很快开始生成可能严重影响设备浏览体验的侵入性广告。此外,它还会修改浏览器的一些设置——首页、新标签页、默认搜索引擎,并将它们设置为打开一个陌生的赞助地址。通常,浏览器劫持者的任务是生成人工流量和推广虚假搜索引擎。当 PUP 存在于系统中时,它将确保其对浏览器设置的修改不会被用户轻易逆转。

macOS 可以检测到这个不需要的程序。在这种情况下,用户很可能会遇到警告提示,指出“ReceiverHelper 将损坏您的计算机”。通常,PUP 不被视为对安装它们的系统的直接威胁,但这并不能使它们完全安全。

大多数 PUP 能够收集各种用户数据,例如整个浏览历史、搜索历史和点击的 URL。他们还可以访问设备详细信息,包括 IP 地址、地理位置、ISP 等。然后可以将收集到的信息打包在单个存档中并传输到远程服务器。建议用户按照macOS提示提示操作,尽快摆脱ReceiverHelper。

ReceiverHelper

ReceiverHelper Description

ReceiverHelper is a PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program) that can act both as adware and a browser hijacker. The application is targeting Mac users predominantly and relies on underhanded distribution techniques to spread itself. Users should be careful when installing freeware software products or applications of unproven sources as packaged inside them could be various intruder apps such as ReceiverHelper.

If its installation is allowed by the user unwittingly, the application will soon start to generate intrusive advertisements that could impact severely the browsing experience on the device. In addition, it will modify some of the browser's settings - the homepage, new tab page, and the default search engine, and set them to open an unfamiliar sponsored address. Typically, browser hijackers are tasked with generating artificial traffic and promoting fake search engines. While the PUP is present on the system, it will make sure that its modifications to the browser's settings are not reversed by the users easily.

The macOS can detect this unwanted program. In this case, users will more than likely encounter a warning prompt stating that 'ReceiverHelper will damage your computer.' Generally, PUPs are not considered a direct threat to the system they are installed on but that doesn't make them safe perfectly.

Most PUPs are capable of collecting various user data, such as the entire browsing history, search history and clicked URLs. They also may access device details including the IP address, geolocation, ISP and more. The gathered information could then be packaged in a single archive and transmitted to a remote server. Users are advised to follow the instructions of the macOS prompt and get rid of the ReceiverHelper as soon as possible.