Numando Banking Trojan

Numando Banking Trojan说明

一份新报告揭示了另一个来自拉丁美洲的银行木马。该威胁被命名为 Numando,至少自 2018 年以来一直用于攻击活动。 虽然 Numando 的行动主要集中在巴西,但在其他地区,例如墨西哥和西班牙,也进行了偶尔的活动。尽管攻击者采用了几种新颖的技术和策略,例如使用 YouTube 视频进行远程配置,但由于相对缺乏复杂性,Numando 的成功率仍然很低。

攻击链

攻击始于垃圾邮件和网络钓鱼邮件的传播。损坏的电子邮件包含诱饵消息和 .ZIP 附件。该档案包含一个合法的应用程序、一个注入器和 Numando 的有效负载。当受害者启动合法程序时,它会侧载注入器并导致恶意软件的执行。在攻击链的另一个变体中,不安全的有效载荷被注入到 BMP 图像中并随后被提取。尽管大得令人怀疑,但这个 BMP 图像是完全有效的,可以在许多图像编辑器中打开并毫无问题地查看。检测到的图像通常包括合法软件产品和公司(例如 Avast 和 Java)的徽标。

威胁能力

Numando 的主要功能与该地区的所有其他银行木马一致 - 通过在合法银行和支付应用程序上生成覆盖层,它试图收集受害者的帐户凭据和银行信息。此外,恶意软件威胁可以模拟鼠标和键盘输入,强制受感染的系统重新启动或关闭,截取任意屏幕截图并杀死浏览器进程。

与拉丁美洲地区的许多其他银行木马不同,Numando 似乎并未处于积极开发阶段。发现的版本和示例确实显示了随着时间的推移引入的一些小的更改,但没有重大改进或添加。

通过 YouTube 视频进行远程配置

Numando 最显着的特点是使用公共平台(例如 YouTube、Pastebin 等)进行远程配置。 YouTube 视频包含的信息遵循威胁识别的特定模式。该字符串以 'DATA:{' 开头,后跟三个条目,在结束字符 '}' 之前用 ':' 分隔。在收到跟踪威胁的信息安全研究人员的通知后,谷歌已经删除了涉及有害活动的视频。

Numando Banking Trojan

Numando Banking Trojan Description

A new report has shed light on yet another banking Trojan from Latin America. The threat is named Numando, and it has been used in attack campaigns since at least 2018. While the Numando operations have been mainly focused on Brazil, occasion campaigns also have been carried out in other territories, such as Mexico and Spain. Although the threat actors employ several novel techniques and tactics, such as using YouTube video for remote configuration, the success rate of Numando has remained low due to the relative lack of sophistication.

The Attack Chain

The attack begins with the dissemination of spam emails and phishing messages. The corrupted emails contain a bait message and a.ZIP attachment. The archive contains a legitimate application, an injector and Numando's payload. When the victim launches the legitimate program, it side-loads the injector and leads to the execution of the malware. In another variation of the attack chain, the unsafe payload is injected into a BMP image and extracted subsequently. Despite being large suspiciously, this BMP image is perfectly valid and can be opened in numerous image editors and viewed without any problems. The detected images often include the logos of legitimate software products and companies such as Avast and Java.

The Threatening Capabilities

The main functionality of Numando is consistent with all the other banking Trojans from the region - by generating overlays over legitimate banking and payment applications it tries to collect the victim's account credentials and banking information. In addition, the malware threat can simulate mouse and keyboard inputs, force the infected system to restart or shut down, take arbitrary screenshots and kill browser processes. 

Unlike many of the other banking Trojans from the Latin America region, Numando doesn't appear to be in active development. The discovered versions and samples do show some minor changes that have been introduced over time but there have been no major improvements or additions. 

Remote Configuration via YouTube Videos

The most striking characteristic of Numando is the use of public platforms such as YouTube, Pastebin, and others, for remote configuration. The YouTube videos included information that follows a specific pattern recognized by the threat. The string begins with 'DATA:{' followed by three entries separated with ':' before a closing '}' character. After being notified by the infosec researchers tracking the threat, Google has taken down the video involved in the harmful campaigns.