ModuleService

ModuleService說明

ModuleService 是一個 PUP(潛在有害程序),它試圖將自己潛入用戶的 Mac 設備。它的目標是通過執行大量侵入性活動為其運營商創造金錢收益。更具體地說,ModuleService 既可以充當瀏覽器劫持者,也可以充當廣告軟件。

PUP 的廣告軟件功能負責向受影響的設備提供大量不需要的廣告材料。廣告可能會呈現為並非來自特定合法網站的彈出窗口、橫幅、調查,甚至是文本鏈接。煩人的廣告可能會影響設備上的瀏覽體驗

PUP 的廣告軟件功能負責向受影響的設備提供大量不需要的廣告材料。廣告可能會呈現為並非來自特定合法網站的彈出窗口、橫幅、調查,甚至是文本鏈接。煩人的廣告可能會嚴重影響設備上的瀏覽體驗,但更重要的是,它們可能會導致不安全或可疑的第三方頁面。用戶可能會被帶到釣魚網站、可疑的在線遊戲平台、傳播更多 PUP 的域等。

同時,ModuleService 的瀏覽器劫持部分會偷偷修改某些 Web 瀏覽器設置,以將人工流量引向提升的地址。通常,首頁、新標籤頁和默認搜索引擎都會受到影響。 ModuleService 推廣的地址是“search.initialunit.com”,正如預期的那樣,它屬於假搜索引擎。

假引擎缺乏產生結果的能力。通常,當用戶通過虛假引擎發起搜索時,查詢將通過合法搜索引擎重定向。在這種情況下,用戶的搜索將通過 search.yahoo.com 重新路由。

不建議在您的設備上保留諸如 ModuleService 之類的 PUP。這些可疑的應用程序可以配備數據收集例程,除了各種設備詳細信息外,還會收集大量與瀏覽相關的信息,並將其傳輸到遠程服務器。

ModuleService

ModuleService Description

ModuleService is a PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program) that tries to sneak itself onto users' Mac devices. Its goal is to generate monetary gains for its operators by performing numerous intrusive activities. More specifically, ModuleService is capable of acting both as a browser hijacker and adware.

The adware functionality of the PUP is responsible for delivering numerous unwanted advertising materials to the affected device. The advertisements may be presented as pop-ups, banners, surveys, and even in-text links that do not originate from the specific legitimate website. The annoying advertisements could impact the browsing experience on the device

The adware functionality of the PUP is responsible for delivering numerous unwanted advertising materials to the affected device. The advertisements may be presented as pop-ups, banners, surveys, and even in-text links that do not originate from the specific legitimate website. The annoying advertisements could impact the browsing experience on the device severely, but more importantly, they could lead to unsafe or shady third-party pages. Users could be taken to phishing sites, questionable online game platforms, domains spreading more PUPs, etc.

At the same time, the browser hijacker part of ModuleService will modify certain Web browser settings stealthily to drive artificial traffic towards a promoted address. Usually, the homepage, the new tab page, and the default search engine are affected. The address promoted by ModuleService is 'search.initialunit.com,' and as it could be expected, it belongs to a fake search engine.

Fake engines lack the ability to produce results. Typically, when the user initiates a search via a fake engine, the query will be redirected through a legitimate search engine. In this case, the user's searches are rerouted through search.yahoo.com.

It is not advised to keep PUPs such as ModuleService on your devices. These dubious applications could be equipped with data collection routines that will siphon numerous browsing-related information in addition to various device details and transmit it to a remote server.