Lockbit 2.0 勒索软件

Lockbit 2.0 勒索软件说明

LockBit 勒索软件于 2019 年 9 月出现在恶意软件领域,当时它以 RaaS(勒索软件即服务)方案提供。威胁的运营者正在寻找能够进行实际勒索软件攻击然后分摊利润的附属公司——附属公司将获得大约 70-80% 的资金,而其余的将交给 LockBit 的创建者。

该行动自启动以来一直非常活跃,威胁背后的组织代表在黑客论坛上保持存在。当几个著名的论坛决定与勒索软件计划保持距离并禁止讨论此类话题时,LockBit 转向了一个新创建的数据泄漏站点。在那里,网络犯罪分子揭开了他们的威胁创造的下一个版本——LockBit 2.0,它也将作为 RaaS 提供。 2.0 版本拥有大量扩展的有害功能,黑客结合了以前在其他勒索软件系列中出现的多项功能。最重要的是,该威胁配备了前所未有的技术,允许它滥用组策略来自动加密 Windows 域。

LockBit 2.0 展示新技术

LockBit 2.0 仍然是勒索软件,因此,它的目标是在加密存储在那里的数据并索要赎金之前,感染尽可能多的连接到受攻击网络的设备。然而,LockBit 2.0 没有依赖第三方开源工具,这是这些操作的标准做法,而是自动化了其分发和反安全措施。执行后,威胁将在域控制器上创建几个新的组策略,然后将这些策略传送到所有连接到受感染网络的计算机。通过这些策略,恶意软件能够禁用 Microsoft Defender 的真正保护功能,以及通常在检测到不受欢迎的入侵者时发送给 Microsoft 的警报、默认操作和示例。它还建立了一个计划任务来启动其可执行文件。

下一步操作会看到 LockBit 2.0 的可执行文件被复制到每个检测到的设备的桌面。先前创建的计划任务将通过实施 UAC(用户帐户控制)绕过来启动它。这种方法允许 LockBit 2.0 悄悄地通过其编程,而不会触发任何可能引起用户注意的警报。

加密过程完成后,LockBit 2.0 会激活之前观察到的作为Egregor Ransomware威胁的一部分的功能。它涉及强制所有连接到网络的打印机无休止地发出威胁的赎金票据。

Lockbit 2.0 Ransomware

Lockbit 2.0 Ransomware Description

The LockBit Ransomware emerged on the malware landscape back in September 2019, when it was offered in a RaaS (Ransomware-as-a-Service) scheme. The operators of the threat were looking for affiliates who would carry out the actual ransomware attacks and then split the profits - the affiliates would bag around 70-80% of the funds while the rest would be given to the LockBit creators. 

The operation has remained quite active since its launch, with the representatives of the group behind the threat maintaining a presence on the hacker forums. When several prominent forums decided to distance themselves from ransomware schemes and banned the discussions of such topics, LockBit moved on to a newly created data leak site. There, the cybercriminals unveiled the next version of their threatening creation - LockBit 2.0, which also would be offered as RaaS. The 2.0 version boasts massively expanded harmful capabilities with the hackers incorporating multiple features that have emerged in other ransomware families previously. On top of that, the threat is equipped with a never before see technique that allows it to abuse group policies to encrypt Windows domains automatically. 

LockBit 2.0's Exhibits Novel Techniques

LockBit 2.0 is still ransomware, and as such, its aim is to infect as many devices connected to the breached network as possible, before encrypting the data stored there and demanding a ransom. However, instead of relying on third-party open-source tools, which is the standard practice in these operations, LockBit 2.0 automated its distribution and anti-security measures. Upon its execution, the threat will create several new group policies on the domain controller, which are delivered to all machines connected to the compromised network subsequently. Through these policies, the malware is able to disable the real-protection feature of Microsoft Defender, as well as the alerts, default actions, and the samples usually sent to Microsoft upon detecting an unwelcomed intruder. It also establishes a scheduled task to launch its executable. 

The next step of the operation sees the executable file of LockBit 2.0 being copied to the Desktop of each detected device. The previously created scheduled task will initiate it by implementing a UAC (User Account Control) bypass. This method allows LockBit 2.0 to move through its programming stealthily, without triggering any alerts that might attract the attention of the user. 

When the encryption process is completed, LockBit 2.0 activates a feature that was previously observed as part of the Egregor Ransomware threats. It involves forcing all printers connected to the network to spew out the ransom note of the threat endlessly.