ILOBleed Rootkit

ILOBleed Rootkit說明

iLOBleed Rootkit 是一款針對 HP Integrated Lights-Out (iLO) 服務器管理技術的新型 Rootkit。這iLOBleed Rootkit 是同類產品中第一個突破惠普專有 iLO 固件的產品,為遊戲中的參與者帶來了極高的管理員權限。同時,該iLOBleed Rootkit 允許騙子在管理員有機會看到任何迫在眉睫的危險之前擦除整個數據服務器。

iLOBleed Rootkit 由於其頑固的持久性,即使在您重置整個系統後仍然有效。由於 iLO 與相應 HP 服務器本身及其固件的硬件和軟件架構的完整連接,該漏洞可能會在地下網絡世界中引起關注。這iLOBleed Rootkit 能夠承受多次操作系統重新安裝的能力也更加迷人。

鑑於其上述特性,iLOBleed 可能會破壞任何運行 HP 服務器的業務。然而,它還沒有傳播很遠,因為除了利用它的騙子之外,沒有人知道如何感染潛在目標,因為安全研究人員還沒有找到感染媒介。

iLOBleed Rootkit 背後的黑客可能是高級持續威脅 (APT) 組織的一部分,它也可能很快再次發動攻擊。 Rootkit 是第一個利用和發現固件漏洞的工具,這個問題被忽視了很長一段時間。

iLOBleed Rootkit

iLOBleed Rootkit Description

The iLOBleed Rootkit is a new rootkit targeting HP’s Integrated Lights-Out (iLO) server management technology. The iLOBleed Rootkit is the first of its kind to breach HP’s proprietary iLO firmware, bringing extremely high-privilege administrator rights to the actors at play. At the same time, the iLOBleed Rootkit allows the crooks to wipe off entire data servers before admins have even had the chance to see any imminent danger.

The iLOBleed Rootkit remains alive and kicking even after you've reset the entire system due to its dogged persistence. The breach is likely to gain traction in the underground cyberworld because of iLO’s integral connection to the hardware and software architecture of the corresponding HP servers per se and their firmware. The iLOBleed Rootkit's ability to survive multiple OS reinstalls is all the more captivating, as well.

In light of its qualities mentioned above, iLOBleed could potentially destroy any business running HP servers. However, it hasn’t spread far yet because, apart from the crooks who exploit it, no one knows how to infect potential targets since security researchers have yet to find the infection vector.

The hackers behind the iLOBleed Rootkit may be part of an Advanced Persistent Threat (APT) group, and it might, as well, strike again soon. The Rootkit is the first to exploit and find vulnerabilities in firmware, a problem overlooked for quite a while.