灰色能源

灰色能源说明

GreyEnergy APT(高级持久威胁)被认为是被称为BlackEnergy APT的具有破坏性的黑客组织的继任者。网络安全专家认为这两个黑客组织有关联的原因有几个:

  • 当BlackEnergy APT从网络犯罪世界中消失时,GreyEnergy黑客组织就出现了。
  • GreyEnergy和BlackEnergy APT都倾向于使用灵活,轻量级的黑客工具来操作,这些工具易于修改和控制。
  • 两个黑客组织的大部分努力都集中在波兰和乌克兰。
  • 它们都倾向于针对关键部门,例如工业或能源相关机构。
  • GreyEnergy和BlackEnergy APT构建和使用的基础设施似乎密切相关。

改变方法

但是,似乎同时属于这两个黑客集团的个人似乎已经改变了策略。在大多数情况下, BlackEnergy以其极具破坏性的趋势而闻名,并且似乎不太在乎隐藏其轨迹或放置在低谷上。这与GreyEnergy APT所采用的方法完全相反。他们要更加谨慎,以免受到恶意软件研究人员的监视,而且它们传播的威胁噪声和破坏性也较小。已经注意到,GreyEnergy集团开展的许多活动都涉及一个微型后门特洛伊木马,该木马被用作攻击者向渗透主机上施加更强大威胁的网关。为了确保他们的威胁尽可能安静地运行,GreEnergy APT一直在利用无文件恶意软件。此外,GreyEnergy黑客小组一直在研究多个“恶意软件清除程序”。这些工具使恶意软件操作员能够擦除可能残留在受害者系统上的有害活动的任何痕迹。

过去,BlackEnergy小组的目标是大肆破坏,而今天开始运作的GreyEnergy APT主要集中在间谍活动上。一旦GreyEnergy小组渗透到系统中,他们很可能会停留在低位,并通过记录击键,拍摄桌面屏幕快照,提取感兴趣的文件,收集文档,收集登录凭据和其他数据来从主机收集信息。有时,GreyEnergy APT不会使用私人开发的黑客工具,而是会使用公开可用的正版应用程序,例如Mimikatz ,WinExe,PsExec,Nmap等。

有趣的是,黑客组织如此彻底地改变了策略。可能采取了更为安静的方法,以便参与其中的个人能够继续其业务并最大程度地减少被当局抓获的机会。将来,我们可能会继续听到有关GreyEnergy APT的活动的信息。

发表评论

请不要将此评论系统用于支持或结算问题。 若要获取SpyHunter技术支持,请通过SpyHunter打开技术支持问题直接联系我们的技术团队。 有关结算问题,请参考“结算问题?”页面。 有关一般查询(投诉,法律,媒体,营销,版权),请访问我们的"查询和反馈"页面。

GreyEnergy

GreyEnergy Description

The GreyEnergy APT (Advanced Persistent Threat) is believed to be the successor of the largely destructive hacking group known as the BlackEnergy APT. There are several reasons why cybersecurity experts believe these two hacking groups to be related:

  • The GreyEnergy hacking group emerged about the same time as the BlackEnergy APT vanished from the world of cybercrime.
  • Both the GreyEnergy and BlackEnergy APTs tend to operate with flexible, light-weight hacking tools that are modified and controlled easily.
  • Most of the efforts of both hacking groups are concentrated in Poland and Ukraine.
  • They both tend to target critical sectors like industrial or energy-related institutions.
  • The infrastructure built and used by both GreyEnergy and BlackEnergy APT seems to be very closely related.

Changing Approaches

However, the individuals who appear to be behind both these hacking groups seem to have changed their tactics. For the most part, BlackEnergy was known for its very destructive tendencies and seemed to care little about hiding its tracks or laying on the down-low. This is in utter contrast to the approach that the GreyEnergy APT has taken. They are much more careful about remaining under the radar of malware researchers, and the threats they propagate are less noisy and destructive. It has been noticed that many of the campaigns carried out by the GreyEnergy group involve a mini backdoor Trojan, which is used as a gateway for the attackers to plant a more potent threat on the infiltrated host. To ensure their threats operate as silently as possible, the GreEnergy APT has been utilizing fileless malware. Furthermore, the GreyEnergy hacking group has been working on several ‘malware wipers.’ These tools enable the malware operators to erase any traces of harmful activity that may remain on the victim’s system.

In the past, the BlackEnergy group aimed to wreak havoc, while the GreyEnergy APT that is operational today concentrates on spying campaigns mostly. Once the GreyEnergy group infiltrates a system, they are likely to stay on the down-low and collect information from the host via recording keystrokes, taking screenshots of the desktop, siphoning files of interest, collecting documents, gathering login credentials, and other data. Sometimes, instead of using privately developed hacking tools, the GreyEnergy APT would utilize publicly available genuine applications such as Mimikatz, WinExe, PsExec, Nmap, etc.

It is interesting to see a hacking group changing tactics so radically. Taking a much quieter approach was likely done so that the individuals involved in this would be able to continue their operations and minimize the chances of getting caught by the authorities. We will continue to hear about the activities of the GreyEnergy APT in the future, probably.

Leave a Reply

Please DO NOT use this comment system for support or billing questions. For SpyHunter technical support requests, please contact our technical support team directly by opening a customer support ticket via your SpyHunter. For billing issues, please refer to our "Billing Questions or Problems?" page. For general inquiries (complaints, legal, press, marketing, copyright), visit our "Inquiries and Feedback" page.