GozNym

GozNym说明

类型: Worms

goznym特洛伊木马恶意威胁 GozNym是一种特洛伊木马病毒感染,结合了两个非常破坏性的威胁:Gozi ISFB和Nymaim。 GozNym的名称分别由这两个威胁的名称组成。 GozNym已成为对计算机安全的严重威胁。通过利用其所基于的两种威胁的最佳功能,GozNym创造了一种特别复杂且难以应对的新威胁。有关该恶意软件的最新消息表明,它是由一群组织良好的网络骗子操纵的,其主要目标是全世界的银行,信用合作社和流行的电子商务平台。按照其性质,GozNym在2016年4月首次亮相后的短短几周内,便从美国,德国和加拿大的金融机构挪用了数百万美元。当时,GozNym与另一个名为Avalanche的恶意软件操作相关联,该软件为包括GozNym在内的多个大型恶意软件家族提供了托管,但在同一年被拆除。

全球GozNym恶意软件操作已被撤销

在六个国家的警察当局,欧洲刑警组织和美国司法部的参与下,经过协调的国际调查,2019年5月,GozNym恶意软件操作被撤销。黑客组的十名成员中有五名已被捕,其余的则设法逃脱并据称在俄罗斯躲藏起来。据估计,GozNym恶意软件在其生存期间已感染了41,000台计算机,并试图从受害者中提取1亿美元。然而,目前还不清楚骗子实际上成功赚了多少钱。起诉书中的细节揭示了操作GozNym恶意软件的黑客人员的组织严密。小组成员由来自俄罗斯和其他多个国家/地区的自由职业者网络犯罪专家组成,每个专家都高度专注于恶意软件运营链中的特定任务-编码人员,恶意软件开发人员,“防弹项目”托管提供商,监督者,“帐户接管”经理,人们可以“兑现”和洗劫被盗的资金,“ mu子”等。似乎乘员组是从在线论坛中招募来的,他们通过聊天协调活动。

最终成为GozNym木马的致命组合

早在2016年,PC安全研究人员就发现GozNym的同时观察到Gozi ISFB和Nymaim的混合体。显然,Nymaim的创建者重新编译了该威胁的源代码,并将以前泄漏的Gozi ISFB的一部分包括在其代码中,以赋予其新功能。因此,这两种威胁的组合导致了一种威胁,该威胁已被用来对美国和加拿大的24多家银行进行重大的金融欺诈攻击。

GozNym具有每个组件的最佳功能。该木马使用了Nymaim的高效滴管和渗透机制。同时,它实现了Gozi ISFB提取受害者的金钱和财务数据的功能。 Nymaim以其持久性和隐身性而闻名,它允许GozNym进入未被检测到的计算机并在后台运行,而不会向受害人或受影响的计算机的安全软件发出警报。 GozNym从Gozi ISFB中获得了通过其Web浏览器欺骗计算机用户的功能。事实证明,两种强大的恶意软件威胁的融合对于对毫无戒心的计算机用户进行攻击非常有效。

GozNym如何在野外传播

GozNym已通过损坏的电子邮件附件传播。与GozNym相关的恶意文件可能利用Microsoft Office中的漏洞,当启用宏时,该漏洞允许执行损坏的代码。 GozNym使用Nymaim的两阶段Trojan滴管进行攻击,此功能已引起PC安全研究人员的注意。这意味着GozNym通过漏洞利用工具包进入受害者的计算机,然后恶意软件在受害者的计算机上传递其有效负载的第二阶段。本质上,GozNym使用两个可执行文件进行攻击。有迹象表明这两种威胁可能混合在一起。此威胁的早期版本将使用Nymaim的删除程序以损坏的DLL文件的形式注入Gozi ISFB的财务模块。

一旦GozNym进入受害者的计算机,恶意软件便会充当键盘记录程序。它劫持了受害者的网络浏览器,并使他们向网络银行网站注入网络钓鱼域。然后,当用户登录其在线银行帐户时,恶意软件会窃取凭据并接管该帐户。此外,GozNym在被劫持的浏览器中插入一个旨在诱骗用户输入第二个代码的字段。然后捕获此代码,以后将其用于破坏两因素身份验证。 GozNym还具有混淆的代码,可使其逃避反恶意软件程序。

一旦受害者的凭证被盗,它们将被发送到管理面板,“帐户接管”专家将使用该面板登录帐户,并尝试通过电子转帐来窃取资金。接下来是“兑现”步骤,在该步骤中,机组的其他成员收到被盗的资金并负责洗钱。最后,低级运营商或所谓的“钱mu子”从ATM机上取款。 GozNym黑客小组的这些最后成员尚未被定罪。

GozNym用作僵尸网络并连接到C&C服务器

GozNym的许多动作可以追溯到它充当僵尸网络时,其中包含多个系统。在那些系统中,可以通过特定的IP(Internet协议)地址利用GozNym进行连接。这些IP来自计算机安全研究人员发现的特定国家/地区。

思科Talos团队的GozNym IP按国家/地区图表进行连接
goznym trojan ip按国家/地区连接

在接收信标以与受GozNym感染的系统进行通信的国家中,德国位居首位,占47%,美国紧随其后,占37%。上面的图表代表了被发现用于GozNym威胁和服务器的各个国家(地区)的独特IP,这些数据是由Cisco Talos团队的专家确定的,他们已经分析了威胁并确定了变体。

网站免责声明

Enigmasoftware.com与本文提到的恶意软件创建者或发行者没有关联、赞助或拥有。不要以任何方式将本文与推广或认可恶意软件相关联,将其误解或混淆。我们的目的是提供信息,以指导计算机用户如何借助SpyHunter和/或本文提供的手动删除说明来检测并最终从计算机中删除恶意软件。

本文按“原样”提供,仅用于教育信息。按照本文的任何说明进行操作,即表示您同意受免责声明的约束。我们不保证本文将帮助您完全消除计算机上的恶意软件威胁。间谍软件定期更改,因此,很难通过手动方式完全清洁受感染的计算机。

GozNym

GozNym Description

goznym trojan horse mawlare threatGozNym is a Trojan infection that combines two very destructive threats: Gozi ISFB and Nymaim. Respectively, GozNym's name consists of the names of these two threats. GozNym has become a serious threat to computer security. By taking the best capabilities of the two threats on which it is based, GozNym creates a new threat that is particularly sophisticated and difficult to deal with. The latest news around the malware show that it has been operated by a well-organized group of cyber crooks whose main targets have been banks, credit unions, and popular e-commerce platforms all over the world. True to its nature, within just a few weeks after its first appearance in April 2016, GozNym managed to misappropriate millions of dollars from financial institutions in the USA, Germany, and Canada. At that time, GozNym was linked to another malware operation known as Avalanche which provided hosting to several large malware families, including GozNym, but got largely dismantled the same year.

The Global GozNym Malware Operation Has Been Taken Down

In May 2019, after a coordinated international investigation with the participation of police authorities of six countries, Europol, and the US Justice Department, the GozNym malware operation has been taken down. Five of the ten members of the hacking crew have been arrested, while the rest have managed to escape and are hiding from justice, supposedly, in Russia. It has been estimated that the GozNym malware has infected 41,000 computers during its existence, and has attempted to extract $100 million from its victims. Yet, it remains unclear how much of that money the crooks actually managed to pull off. Details from the indictment reveal the strictly organized structure of the hacking crew which operated GozNym malware. The crew consisted of freelancer cybercrime experts from Russia and several other countries, each highly specialized in a particular task along the operational chain of the malware - coders, malware developers, "bullet-proof" hosting providers, overseers, "account takeover" managers, people to "cash out" and launder the stolen funds, "money mules", etc. It looks like the members of the crew have been recruited from online forums, and they coordinated their activities over chat.

The Deadly Combination That Ended Up as the GozNym Trojan

Back in 2016, PC security researchers discovered GozNym while observing what appeared to be a hybrid of Gozi ISFB and Nymaim. Apparently, the creators of Nymaim recompiled this threat's source code and included portions of the previously leaked Gozi ISFB in its code to give it new capabilities. Thus, the combination of these two threats has resulted in a threat that has been used to conduct major financial fraud attacks against more than 24 banks in the United States and Canada.

GozNym has the best features of each of its components. The Trojan uses Nymaim's highly effective dropper and infiltration mechanisms; at the same time, it implements Gozi ISFB's capabilities of extracting the victim's money and financial data. Nymaim, known for its persistence and stealth, allows GozNym to enter a computer undetected and run in the background without alerting the victim or the affected computer's security software. From Gozi ISFB, GozNym has taken the ability to defraud computer users through their Web browser. The fusion of the two powerful malware threats has proven to be highly effective in carrying out attacks on unsuspecting computer users.

How Has GozNym Spread in the Wild

GozNym has been spread through corrupted email attachments. Malicious files associated with GozNym may leverage a vulnerability in Microsoft Office that allows the execution of corrupted code when macros are enabled. GozNym uses Nymaim's two-stage Trojan dropper to carry out its attacks, a feature that had already caught PC security researchers' attention. This means that GozNym enters the victim's computer through an exploit kit, then the malware delivers the second stage of its payload on the victim's computer. Essentially, GozNym uses two executable files to carry out its attack. There are traces of a possible hybrid of these two threats; earlier versions of this threat would use Nymaim's dropper to inject Gozi ISFB's financial module in the form of a corrupted DLL file.

Once GozNym has entered the victim's computer, the malware acts as a keylogger. It hijacks the victim’s web browsers and makes them inject phishing fields into online banking websites. When the user then logs into their online banking account, the malware steals the credentials and takes over the account. Furthermore, GozNym inserts a field in the hijacked browser designed to trick the user into entering a second code. This code is then captured and later used to defeat two-factor authentication. GozNym also has an obfuscated code which allows it to evade anti-malware programs.

Once the victim’s credentials are stolen, they are sent to an administration panel where the "account takeover" specialists use them to log into the accounts and try to steal funds through electronic transfers. Next comes the "cash out" step in which other members of the crew receive the stolen funds and take care of the money laundry. Finally, low-level operators, or so-called "money mules," withdraw the money from ATMs. These last members of the GozNym hacking crew have not been convicted.

GozNym used as a botnet and connection to C&C servers

The many actions of GozNym can be traced to it acting as a botnet where it comprises several systems. Among those systems, GozNym may be leveraged in ways to connect through specific IP (Internet Protocol) addresses. Those IPs are from specific countries found by computer security researchers.

Cisco Talos team's GozNym IP connects by country chart
goznym trojan ip connects by country

Among the countries where beacons were received to communicate with systems infected with GozNym, Germany ranked at the top with 47% and the United States following behind at 37%. The chart above is a representation of the unique IPs by country found to be utilized for the GozNym threat and servers as identified by experts from the Cisco Talos team who have analyzed the threat and identified is variants.

Do You Suspect Your PC May Be Infected with GozNym & Other Threats? Scan Your PC with SpyHunter

SpyHunter is a powerful malware remediation and protection tool designed to help provide PC users with in-depth system security analysis, detection and removal of a wide range of threats like GozNym as well as a one-on-one tech support service. Download SpyHunter's FREE Malware Remover
Note: SpyHunter's scanner is only for malware detection. If SpyHunter detects malware on your PC, you will need to purchase SpyHunter's malware removal tool to remove the malware threats. Read more on SpyHunter. Free Remover allows you to run a one-off scan and receive, subject to a 48-hour waiting period, one remediation and removal. Free Remover subject to promotional details and Special Promotion Terms. To understand our policies, please also review our EULA, Privacy Policy and Threat Assessment Criteria. If you no longer wish to have SpyHunter installed on your computer, follow these steps to uninstall SpyHunter.

Security Doesn't Let You Download SpyHunter or Access the Internet?

Solutions: Your computer may have malware hiding in memory that prevents any program, including SpyHunter, from executing on your computer. Follow to download SpyHunter and gain access to the Internet:
  • Use an alternative browser. Malware may disable your browser. If you're using IE, for example, and having problems downloading SpyHunter, you should open Firefox, Chrome or Safari browser instead.
  • Use a removable media. Download SpyHunter on another clean computer, burn it to a USB flash drive, DVD/CD, or any preferred removable media, then install it on your infected computer and run SpyHunter's malware scanner.
  • Start Windows in Safe Mode. If you can not access your Window's desktop, reboot your computer in "Safe Mode with Networking" and install SpyHunter in Safe Mode.
  • IE Users: Disable proxy server for Internet Explorer to browse the web with Internet Explorer or update your anti-spyware program. Malware modifies your Windows settings to use a proxy server to prevent you from browsing the web with IE.
If you still can't install SpyHunter? View other possible causes of installation issues.

Site Disclaimer

Enigmasoftware.com is not associated, affiliated, sponsored or owned by the malware creators or distributors mentioned on this article. This article should NOT be mistaken or confused in being associated in any way with the promotion or endorsement of malware. Our intent is to provide information that will educate computer users on how to detect, and ultimately remove, malware from their PC with the help of SpyHunter and/or manual removal instructions provided on this article.

This article is provided "as is" and to be used for educational information purposes only. By following any instructions on this article, you agree to be bound by the disclaimer. We make no guarantees that this article will help you completely remove the malware threats on your PC. Spyware changes regularly; therefore, it is difficult to fully clean an infected machine through manual means.

Leave a Reply

Please DO NOT use this comment system for support or billing questions. For SpyHunter technical support requests, please contact our technical support team directly by opening a customer support ticket via your SpyHunter. For billing issues, please refer to our "Billing Questions or Problems?" page. For general inquiries (complaints, legal, press, marketing, copyright), visit our "Inquiries and Feedback" page.