迷人小貓 APT

迷人小貓 APT

Charming Kitten,也稱為APT35 ,是一個高級持續性威脅,是一個疑似與伊朗有聯繫的黑客組織。該組織還有其他名稱:Phosphorus、Ajax Security Team 和 Newscaster Team。據觀察,迷人的小貓有出於政治動機的活動,但也有出於經濟原因的活動。他們的目標是人權活動家、媒體組織和學術界。他們的大部分活動都在推動對英國、美國、伊朗和以色列的襲擊。

迷人的小貓活動

黑客組織在 2017 年對 HBO 進行了一次更大規模的行動。網絡犯罪分子洩露了大約 1 TB 的數據,其中包含公司員工、即將上映的節目等的個人信息。 Charming Kitten(又名 APT35)發起的其他攻擊包括通過美國空軍叛逃者訪問詳細數據,以及欺騙以色列網絡安全公司的網站以竊取登錄詳細信息。將他們與伊朗聯繫在一起的襲擊是 2018 年針對影響針對該國製裁的政治活動家的一次行動。 Charming Kitten 特工使用帶有惡意附件的網絡釣魚電子郵件和社交工程來偽裝成高級專業人士。

迷人小貓的伊朗角度

有針對性的網絡釣魚活動是 APT35(迷人小貓)開展業務的方式的一部分,正如他們 2019 年旨在冒充前《華爾街日報》記者的活動中所見。他們用這種方法將爪子伸向受害者,承諾接受采訪或邀請參加網絡研討會,通常是關於當時伊朗和國際事務的話題。
在其中一個案例中,攻擊者用假冒的身份用阿拉伯語編寫了一封電子郵件,模仿了現實生活中的 Farnaz Fassihi,他是一名為該出版物工作了 17 年的前華爾街日報員工。迷人的小貓特工將這個假角色描述為仍在為《華爾街日報》工作。

虛假的面試請求。來源:blog.certfa.com

郵件內容如下:

你好 *** ***** ******
我叫法納茲·法西希。我是華爾街日報的記者。
《華爾街日報》的中東團隊打算在發達國家引進成功的非本地人士。你在研究和科學哲學領域的活動讓我把你介紹為一個成功的伊朗人。中東團隊的負責人要求我們安排對您的採訪,並與我們的聽眾分享您的一些重要成就。這次採訪可以激勵我們熱愛的國家的年輕人發現他們的才能並走向成功。
不用說,這次採訪對我個人來說是一種莫大的榮幸,我懇請您接受我的採訪邀請。
這些問題是由我的一群同事專業設計的,最終的採訪將發表在《華爾街日報》的每週採訪部分。你一接受,我會第一時間把麵試的問題和要求發給你。
*腳註:非本地是指出生在其他國家的人。
感謝您的善意和關注。
法納茲·法西希

電子郵件中的鏈接採用短 URL 格式,通常被威脅者用來偽裝其背後的合法鏈接,旨在收集 IP 地址、瀏覽器和操作系統版本等的數據。通過反复溝通建立信任並為採取行動的時刻做好準備,這有助於為進一步的攻擊鋪平道路。

一旦隨著時間的推移建立信任,黑客就會發送一個包含所謂面試問題的鏈接。波斯語計算機應急響應小組 (CERTFA) 樣本顯示,攻擊者使用的是近年來網絡釣魚者使用的一種方法,其中包含 Google 協作平台託管的頁面。

一旦受害者打開鏈接,他們可能會被重定向到另一個虛假頁面,該頁面試圖通過使用網絡釣魚工具包記錄他們的登錄憑據和雙重身份驗證代碼。

迷人小貓操作總結

2015 年,研究人員發現了第一波網絡釣魚攻擊,隨後 ClearSky 的研究人員在 2016 年至 2017 年期間發現了大規模的間諜活動。 Charming Kitten 操作員使用假冒、魚叉式網絡釣魚和水坑攻擊。

2018 年,Charming Kitten 網絡犯罪分子通過一個冒充安全公司門戶的欺詐網站追捕 ClearSky。那一年,通過虛假電子郵件活動和虛假網站發現了更多針對中東目標的攻擊。

2019 年,迷人的小貓 (APT35) 活動擴大了針對美國、中東和法國的非伊朗人的活動,針對他們最初所追求的學術惡魔之外的公眾人物。他們開始在他們的電子郵件通信中附加一個跟踪器,以跟踪轉發到其他帳戶的電子郵件,以獲取地理位置數據。

>>>2020 年 5 月 10 日更新 - APT35(迷人小貓)參與 COVID-19 黑客活動

網絡安全專家審查的一組公開網絡檔案顯示,伊朗黑客組織 Charming Kitten 等人在 4 月對參與 COVID-19 研究的加利福尼亞州吉利德科學公司的製藥公司發起了網絡攻擊。

在安全研究人員遇到的一個例子中,黑客使用了一個偽造的電子郵件登錄頁面,該頁面專門用於竊取參與公司和法律事務的吉利德高管的密碼。該攻擊是在一個用於掃描網址以查找惡意活動的網站上發現的,但研究人員無法確定它是否成功。
研究這次攻擊的分析師之一是以色列網絡安全公司 ClearSky 的 Ohad Zaidenberg。他評論說,4 月份針對 Gilead 的攻擊是為了通過冒充記者調查的消息來破壞公司電子郵件帳戶。其他未被授權公開發表評論的分析師後來證實,這次攻擊使用了伊朗黑客組織 Charming Kitten 之前使用的域和服務器。

傾向於黑客團體

趨勢 APT 黑客組圖表 - 來源:Securitystack.co

伊朗駐聯合國外交使團否認參與此類攻擊,發言人 Alireza Miryousefi 表示“伊朗政府不參與網絡戰”,並補充說“伊朗參與的網絡活動純粹是防禦性的,旨在防止對伊朗的基礎設施。”

吉利德遵循公司關於討論網絡安全問題的政策,拒絕置評。該公司最近備受關注,因為它是抗病毒藥物瑞德西韋的製造商,這是目前唯一被證明可以幫助感染 COVID-19 的患者的治療方法。吉利德也是領先研發治療這種致命疾病的公司之一,使其成為情報收集工作的主要目標。

Trending

Most Viewed

Loading...

Charming Kitten APT

Charming Kitten APT Description

Charming Kitten, also known as APT35, is an advanced persistent threat, a hacker group with suspected Iranian ties. The group is also known under other names: Phosphorus, Ajax Security Team, and Newscaster Team. Charming Kitten has been observed to have politically motivated campaigns, but also ones motivated by financial reasons. They're aiming for human rights activists, media organizations, and the academic sector. The majority of their campaigns were pushing for attacks on the United Kingdom, United States, Iran, and Israel.

Charming Kitten Campaigns

One of the more expansive operations undertaken by the hacker group was carried out against HBO in 2017. The cybercriminals leaked about a terabyte of data with personal information on the company staff, upcoming shows, and more. Other attacks staged by Charming Kitten, a.k.a. APT35 included access to detailed data through a US Air Force defector and spoofing the website of an Israeli cybersecurity company to steal login details. The attack that tied them to Iran was a 2018 operation aimed at political activists that influenced the sanctions aimed against the country. Charming Kitten operatives used phishing emails with malicious attachments and social engineering to pose as high ranking professionals.

The Iranian Angle for Charming Kitten

Targeted phishing campaigns were part of the way the APT35 (Charming Kitten) do business, as could be seen with their 2019 campaign that aimed at impersonating ex-Wall Street Journal journalists. They used that approach to sink their claws into their victims with the promise of interviews or invitations to webinars, often on the topics of Iranian and international affairs at the time.
In one of these cases, the attackers composed an email in Arabic under the fake identity imitating the real-life Farnaz Fassihi, an ex-Wall Street Journal employee with 17 years working for the publication. The Charming Kitten operatives presented this fake persona as still working for WSJ.

Fake interview request. Source: blog.certfa.com

The email's contents were as follows:

Hello *** ***** ******
My name is Farnaz Fasihi. I am a journalist at the Wall Street Journal newspaper.
The Middle East team of the WSJ intends to introduce successful non-local individuals in developed countries. Your activities in the fields of research and philosophy of science led me to introduce you as a successful Iranian. The director of the Middle East team asked us to set up an interview with you and share some of your important achievements with our audience. This interview could motivate the youth of our beloved country to discover their talents and move toward success.
Needless to say, this interview is a great honor for me personally, and I urge you to accept my invitation for the interview.
The questions are designed professionally by a group of my colleagues and the resulting interview will be published in the Weekly Interview section of the WSJ. I will send you the questions and requirements of the interview as soon as you accept.
*Footnote: Non-local refers to people who were born in other countries.
Thank you for your kindness and attention.
Farnaz Fasihi

The links within the emails were in a short URL format, often used by threat actors to disguise legitimate links behind them, aiming at data collection of IP addresses, browser, and OS versions and more. That helped pave the way to further attacks by building trust with repeated communication and preparing for the moment to act.

Once trust is established over time, the hackers send off a link that contains the alleged interview questions. The Computer Emergency Response Team in Farsi (CERTFA) samples showed the attackers were using a method used by phishers in recent years, with Google Sites-hosted pages.

Once the victim opens the link, they may be redirected to another fake page that attempts to record their login credentials and two-factor authentication code through the use of a phishing kit.

Summary of Charming Kitten Operations

In 2015 the first wave of phishing attacks was discovered by researchers, with later espionage operations on a massive scale being discovered from 2016 to 2017 by researchers at ClearSky. The Charming Kitten operators used impersonation, spear-phishing, and watering hole attacks.

In 2018 Charming Kitten cybercriminals went after ClearSky with a fraudulent website impersonating the security company's portal. More attacks were identified that year against Middle Eastern targets with a fake email campaign and fake websites.

In 2019 Charming Kitten (APT35) activities expanded by targeting of non-Iranians in the US, Middle East, and France, with targeting of public figures outside the academic fiends they were going for initially. They began attaching a tracker to their email correspondence to follow emails forwarded to other accounts, intending to obtain geolocation data.

>>>Update May 10th, 2020 - APT35 (Charming Kitten) Involved In COVID-19 Hacking Campaign

A set of publicly available web archives reviewed by cybersecurity experts revealed that the Iranian hacking group known as Charming Kitten, among other names, was behind an April cyber-attack against Gilead Sciences Inc California-based drug company involved in COVID-19 research.

In one of the instances that the security researchers came across, the hackers used a bogus email login page that was specifically designed to steal passwords from a top Gilead executive, involved in corporate and legal affairs. The attack was found on a website that is used to scan web addresses for malicious activity, but the researchers weren't able to determine whether it was successful.
One of the analysts that researched the attack was Ohad Zaidenberg from Israeli cybersecurity firm ClearSky. He commented that the April attack against Gilead was an effort to compromise corporate email accounts with a message that impersonated a journalist inquiry. Other analysts, who weren't authorized to comment publicly have since confirmed that the attack used domains and servers that were previously used by the Iranian hacking group known as Charming Kitten.

trending apt hacker groups

Trending APT Hacker Groups Chart - Source: Securitystack.co

Iran's diplomatic mission to the United Nations has denied any involvement in such attacks, with spokesman Alireza Miryousefi stating that "The Iranian government does not engage in cyber warfare," adding "Cyber activities Iran engages in are purely defensive and to protect against further attacks on Iranian infrastructure."

Gilead has followed company policy on discussing cybersecurity matters and declined to comment. The company has received much attention recently, as it is the manufacturer of the antiviral drug remdesivir, which is currently the only treatment proved to help patients infected with COVID-19. Gilead is also one of the companies leading the research and development of a treatment for the deadly disease, making it a prime target for intelligence-gathering efforts.

Leave a Reply

Please DO NOT use this comment system for support or billing questions. For SpyHunter technical support requests, please contact our technical support team directly by opening a customer support ticket via your SpyHunter. For billing issues, please refer to our "Billing Questions or Problems?" page. For general inquiries (complaints, legal, press, marketing, copyright), visit our "Inquiries and Feedback" page.