ArchiveRemote

ArchiveRemote说明

ArchiveRemote 是另一个针对 Mac 用户的 PUP(潜在有害程序)。 PUP 通常将自己描述为有用或方便的工具,但实际上,它们旨在为运营商带来金钱收益仅通过对受害者的系统执行各种侵入性操作。自然地,用户非常不愿意自愿下载和安装此类应用程序。这就是 PUP 几乎从不通过正常分发渠道传播的原因。相反,他们依靠可疑和欺骗性的方法(例如捆绑)在计算机系统或设备上建立存在而不引起用户的注意。

尤其是 ArchiveRemote,既可以充当广告软件,又可以充当浏览器劫持者。广告软件功能负责向设备提供大量侵入性和不需要的广告。广告可以采用各种形式——弹出窗口、横幅、文本链接等,并且可以注入到不相关的站点中,试图使其看起来好像来自那里。用户在与来自此类可疑来源的广告互动时应格外小心,否则可能会被带到可疑或完全不安全的页面。

ArchiveRemote 的浏览器劫持部分将建立对用户 Web 浏览器的多个设置的控制。目标是强制浏览器打开一个提升的地址,通常是一个虚假的搜索引擎。 PUP 通过修改首页、新标签页和默认搜索引擎,确保为推广页面生成大量的人工流量。

最后,虽然用户可能专注于处理 PUP 操作的这些更明显的后果,但应用程序可能会在后台监视他们的浏览活动。 PUP 以收集包括设备 IP 地址、地理位置、ISP、浏览器型号等在内的数据而闻名。用户的浏览历史、搜索历史和所有点击的 URL 也可以由 PUP 打包和传输。

ArchiveRemote

ArchiveRemote Description

ArchiveRemote is another PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program) targeted at Mac users. PUPs often describe themselves as useful or convenient tools but, in reality, they are designed to generate monetary gains for their operators solely, by performing various intrusive actions on the victim's systems. Naturally, users are extremely disinclined to download and install such applications willingly. That is why PUPs are almost never spread via the normal distribution channels. On the contrary, they rely on questionable and deceptive methods such as bundling to establish a presence on the computer system or device without attracting the user's attention.

ArchiveRemote, in particular, is capable of acting both as adware and a browser hijacker. The adware functionality is responsible for delivering numerous intrusive and unwanted advertisements to the device. The advertisements can take various forms - pop-ups, banners, in-text links, and more, and can be injected into unrelated sites in an attempt to appear as if they originate from there. Users should be extremely careful when interacting with ads from such dubious sources or risk being taken to suspicious or outright unsafe pages.

The browser hijacker part of ArchiveRemote will establish control over several settings of the user's Web browser. The goal is to force the browser to open a promoted address, typically a fake search engine. By modifying the homepage, new tab page, and the default search engine, the PUP ensures that significant artificial traffic will be generated for the promoted page.

Finally, while users may be preoccupied with dealing with these more obvious consequences of the PUPs actions, the application may be spying on their browsing activities in the background. PUPs are known for collecting data including the device's IP address, geolocation, ISP, browser model, etc. The user's browsing history, search history, and all clicked URLs also could be packed and transmitted by the PUP.