AphroditeLookup

AphroditeLookup说明

AphroditeLookup 是一个针对 Mac 用户的 PUP(潜在有害程序)。该应用程序依靠误导性和欺骗性的营销策略来传播自己,而不会被用户注意到。例如,信息安全研究人员观察到 AphroditeLookup 隐藏在伪造的 Adobe Flash Player 安装程序中。

一旦在 Mac 上建立起来,该应用程序就会显示其真实性。首先,以典型的广告软件方式,它将开始运行侵入性广告活动。投放的广告可能会严重降低设备上的浏览体验,但这并不是围绕它们的最令人担忧的方面。与显示的广告互动的用户可能会被重定向到不安全的第三方网站,在那里他们可能会遭受网络钓鱼或其他在线策略、推广更多 PUP 的域,甚至是传播严重恶意软件威胁的受损页面。

当用户被不需要的广告淹没时,AphroditeLookip 将启动其浏览器劫持部分并控制 Web 浏览器。 PUP 将更改某些设置(通常是主页、新页面选项卡和默认搜索引擎)以推广赞助地址。浏览器劫持者是扩散虚假搜索引擎的首选方式。

虽然 PUP 不被视为对安装它们的系统的直接威胁,但这并不意味着用户不会面临风险。 PUP 因具有数据收集能力而臭名昭著。收集的数据可能仅限于用户的浏览活动和某些设备详细信息,例如 IP 地址和地理位置。但是,一些 PUP 也会尝试访问已保存在浏览器中的敏感付款详细信息。

AphroditeLookup

AphroditeLookup Description

AphroditeLookup is a PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program) that targets Mac users. The application relies on misleading and deceptive marketing tactics to spread itself without being noticed by the user. For example, infosec researchers have observed AphroditeLookup hiding inside fake Adobe Flash Player installers.

Once established on the Mac, the application will show its true nature. First, in a typical adware fashion, it will start running an intrusive advertising campaign. The delivered advertisements could diminish the browsing experience on the device severely, but that is not the most worrying aspect surrounding them. Users who engage with the displayed advertisements could be redirected to unsafe third-party websites where they could be subjected to phishing or other online tactics, domains promoting more PUPs, or even compromised pages spreading serious malware threats. 

While the user is being flooded with unwanted advertisements, AphroditeLookip will initiate its browser hijacker part and take control over the Web browser. The PUP will change certain settings (usually the homepage, new page tab, and the default search engine) to promote a sponsored address. Browser hijackers are the preferred way for proliferating fake search engines.

While PUPs are not considered as a direct threat to the system they are installed on, that doesn't mean the users are not facing risks. PUPs are notorious for having data-harvesting capabilities. The gathered data could be limited to the browsing activities of the user and certain device details such as IP address and geolocation. However, some PUPs also try to access sensitive payment details that have been saved in the browser.