AbstractEmu 惡意軟件

AbstractEmu 惡意軟件說明

AbstractEmu 是一種 Android 惡意軟件,具有威脅功能,可以完全控制受感染的設備。 Lookout Threat Labs 的信息安全研究人員首先發現了這種威脅。到目前為止,已經確定了十多種傳播 AbstractEmu 的武器化應用程序。這些應用程序能夠執行其假定的功能,以避免引起任何懷疑。其中一些充當密碼管理器、數據保護程序、應用程序啟動器等。

這 19 款具有威脅性的實用程序可在多個信譽良好的應用商店下載,例如 Google Play、Amazon Appstore、Aptoide、APKPure 和三星 Galaxy Store。在意識到 AbstractEmu 威脅後,谷歌從其平台上清除了這些應用程序。儘管如此,其中一個名為 Lite Launcher 的可疑應用程序假裝是一個合法的應用程序啟動器,在它被刪除時已經達到了 10,000 次以上的下載量。

技術細節

AbstractEmu 惡意軟件是一種廣泛分佈的威脅,配備了 root 功能,使其在過去幾年形成的惡意軟件領域中有些罕見。儘管缺乏高級 APT 組織的威脅工具中常見的複雜系統,AbstractEmu 仍然是一種有效的威脅,可以在用戶打開其任何應用程序時立即激活。

為了獲得 root 權限,AbstractEmu 利用了許多漏洞。事實上,這是第一次在現場活動中觀察到 CVE-2020-0041 漏洞被濫用。另一個被濫用的錯誤是聯發科芯片中的一個漏洞,被稱為 CVE-2020-0069,可能會影響數百萬台已售出的設備。負責創建 AbstractEmu 的網絡犯罪分子還為其配備了利用 CVE-2019-2215 和 CVE-2020-0041 漏洞利用公開可用代碼的能力。

AbstractEmu 的功能

如果部署到設備成功地,AbstractEmu 可以執行各種侵入性操作。首先,它會收集有關受感染設備的信息,包括製造商、型號、版本、IP 地址、MAC 地址、威脅獲得的權限、帳戶信息等。收集到的數據將被傳輸到命令和控制(C2,C&C)服務器,之後 AbstractEmu 將潛伏在設備上等待進一步的命令。

惡意軟件的根狀態允許黑客做幾乎任何他們想做的事情。可以指示威脅收集選定的文件、獲取包括姓名和號碼在內的聯繫信息、跟踪設備的位置、獲取和部署其他惡意負載等。

AbstractEmu Malware

AbstractEmu Malware Description

AbstractEmu is an Android malware equipped with threatening capabilities that allow it to take full control over the infected devices. The threat was first uncovered by infosec researchers at the Lookout Threat Labs. So far, over a dozen weaponized applications spreading AbstractEmu have been identified. These applications were able to perform their supposed functionality to avoid raising any suspicion. Some of them acted as password managers, data savers, application launchers, etc.

The nineteen threatening utility applications were available for download on multiple reputable app stores, such as Google Play, Amazon Appstore, Aptoide, APKPure and the Samsung Galaxy Store. After becoming aware of the AbstractEmu threat, Google purged the applications from its platform. Still, one of the dubious applications named Lite Launcher, pretending to be a legitimate application launcher, had already reached over 10, 000 downloads by the time it was removed.

Technical Details

The AbstractEmu malware is a widely-distributed threat equipped with root capabilities, making it somewhat of a rarity in the malware landscape that has formed in the last couple of years. Despite lacking the sophisticated systems often found in the threatening tools of advanced APT groups, AbstractEmu remains an effective threat that activates the moment users open any of its applications.

To gain root privileges, AbstractEmu exploits numerous vulnerabilities. In fact, this is the first time that the CVE-2020-0041 exploit was observed to be abused in a live campaign. Another abused bug is a vulnerability in MediaTek chips tracked as CVE-2020-0069 that could potentially impact millions of sold devices. The cybercriminals responsible for creating AbstractEmu also have equipped it with the ability to exploit publicly available code that takes advantage of the CVE-2019-2215 and CVE-2020-0041 exploits.

AbstractEmu's Functionality

If deployed to the device successfully, AbstractEmu can perform a wide variety of intrusive actions. First, it will gather information about the compromised device, including manufacturer, model, version, IP address, MAC address, the privileges obtained by the threat, account information and more. The collected data will be transmitted to the Command-and-Control (C2, C&C) server, after which AbstractEmu will lurk on the device waiting for further commands.

The root status of the malware allows the hackers to do almost anything they wish. The threat can be instructed to collect chosen files, obtain contact information including names and numbers, track the device's location, fetch and deploy additional malicious payloads and more.