AboutExtended

AboutExtended說明

AboutExtended 是另一個針對 Mac 用戶的可疑應用程序。它旨在執行通常與廣告軟件和瀏覽器劫持者相關的操作。此外,該應用程序試圖通過有問題的方法分發來隱藏其安裝,例如捆綁和偽造其他更流行的軟件產品的安裝程序/更新。對這些卑鄙策略的依賴足以將 AboutEdxtended 歸類為 PUP(潛在不需要的程序)。

如果 AboutExtended 設法在沒有引起注意的情況下溜走,它將開始通過其存在獲利立即地。首先,AboutExtended 將開始注入並非源自所訪問站點的第三方廣告。這種侵入性的廣告活動可能會影響設備上的瀏覽體驗嚴重。應謹慎對待廣告本身,因為與其互動的用戶可能會被重定向到惡作劇網站、網絡釣魚頁面或其他可疑目的地。

至於AboutExtended的瀏覽器劫持部分,它負責控制用戶的Web瀏覽器。具有此類功能的應用程序通常會修改主頁、新標籤頁和默認搜索引擎,從而強制所有三個設置都打開提升的地址。瀏覽器劫持者通常參與推廣無法自行生成任何搜索結果的虛假搜索引擎。相反,用戶將看到來自合法引擎(例如 Yahoo、Bing 或 Google)的結果,或者可能會顯示充滿贊助廣告鏈接的結果的可疑引擎。

用戶需要擔心另一個侵入性功能,因為幾乎所有 PUP 都能夠監視他們的瀏覽活動。然而,可疑的應用程序可能不會就此止步,收集的信息還可能包括大量設備詳細信息,甚至已保存到受影響瀏覽器中的支付數據。

AboutExtended

AboutExtended Description

AboutExtended is yet another dubious application targeting Mac users. It is designed to perform the actions typically associated with adware and browser hijackers. Furthermore, the application tries to hide its installation by being distributed via questionable methods, such as bundling and fake installers/updates for other more popular software products. The reliance on these underhanded tactics is enough to classify AboutEdxtended as a PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program).

If AboutExtended manages to slip by without getting noticed, it will start to monetize its presence immediately. First, AboutExtended will begin injecting third-party advertisements that do not originate from the visited sites. This intrusive advertising campaign can impact the browsing experience on the device severely. The advertisements themselves should be approached with caution, as users who engage with them risk being redirected to hoax websites, phishing pages or other suspicious destinations. 

As for the browser hijacker part of AboutExtended, it is responsible for taking control over the user's Web browsers. Applications with such functionality typically modify the homepage, new tab page, and the default search engine, forcing all three settings to open a promoted address. Browser hijackers are usually involved in the promotion of fake search engines that are incapable of producing any search results on their own. Users will instead be show results taken from a legitimate engine such as Yahoo, Bing, or Google, or a dubious one that could display results filled with sponsored ad links.

Users have another intrusive functionality to worry about, as nearly all PUPs are capable of spying on their browsing activities. However, the dubious applications may not stop there and the collected information also could include numerous device details or even payment data that has been saved into the affected browser.