电影搜索框

电影搜索框说明

MovieSearchBox 是一个浏览器劫持者,它宣传虚假搜索引擎 moviesearchbox.com。这是一种常见的做法,旨在将人工流量推向原本永远不会被访问或使用的搜索引擎。浏览器劫持应用程序能够建立对用户 Web 浏览器的控制。更具体地说,它们针对的是主页、新标签页和默认搜索引擎设置这三者的组合或全部。

然后尝试使用浏览器、打开新标签页或通过 URL 栏启动搜索的用户将不可避免地被带到所推广的搜索引擎的地址。请记住,虚假引擎无法自行生成任何搜索结果。相反,它们要么重定向到合法引擎,要么将用户引导到能够生成不可靠结果的可疑引擎,这些引擎通常充斥着赞助广告。虚假引擎选择的目的地的决定因素通常是用户的地理位置。

用户几乎从不故意安装诸如 MovieSearchBox 之类的应用程序。相反,他们通过采用诸如“捆绑”或隐藏在虚假安装程序/更新程序中的卑鄙做法来传播自己。这种欺骗行为将它们归类为 PUP(潜在不需要的程序)。与计算机系统上存在 PUP 相关的最大危险信号之一是,它们中的大多数都具有数据收集功能。

信息安全研究人员经常观察尝试访问浏览历史、搜索历史、点击的 URL 以及设备的 IP 地址、地理位置、ISP 等的 PUP。然后可以将所有收集的数据打包并上传到远程服务器。

MovieSearchBox

MovieSearchBox Description

MovieSearchBox is a browser hijacker promoting the fake search engine moviesearchbox.com. This is a common practice designed to drive artificial traffic towards search engines that would otherwise never be visited or used. Browser hijacker applications are capable of establishing control over the user's Web browser. More specifically, they target a combination or all three, the homepage, new tab page, and the default search engine settings.

Users who then try to use the browser, open a new tab, or initiate a search via the URL bar will inevitably be taken to the address of the promoted search engine. Keep in mind that fake engines are incapable of producing any search result on their own. Instead, they either redirect to a legitimate engine or lead the user to a dubious engine that is capable of generating unreliable results, oftentimes filled with sponsored advertisements. The determining factor for the destination chosen by the fake engine is usually the geolocation of the user.

Applications such as MovieSearchBox are almost never installed by users intentionally. Instead, they spread themselves by employing underhanded practices such as 'bundling' or hiding inside fake installers/updaters. This deceptive behavior classifies them as PUPs (Potentially Unwanted Programs). One of the biggest red flags associated with having a PUP present on your computer system is that most of them possess data-harvesting capabilities.

Infosec researchers often observe PUPs that try to access the browsing history, search history, clicked URLs, as well as the device's IP address, geolocation, ISP and more. All of the gathered data could then be packaged and uploaded to a remote server.