فوكس هريرة

فوكس هريرة الوصف

ظل باحثو البرامج الضارة يتابعون عن كثب حملة القرصنة التي يطلق عليها Fox Kitten منذ عام 2017. على عكس معظم عمليات القرصنة التي تستهدف المستخدمين العاديين يوميًا ، فإن حملة Fox Kitten تتبع الأهداف البارزة. مع الأخذ في الاعتبار طبيعة الأهداف ، فمن المنطقي أن يتم تنفيذ حملة Fox Kitten من قبل مجموعات القرصنة من ذوي الخبرة والمهارة العالية. ستلاحق مجموعات القرصنة المشاركة في حملة Fox Kitten أهدافًا من قطاع تكنولوجيا المعلومات وحقل الطيران والمؤسسات الحكومية وصناعة النفط وغيرها. من بين مجموعات الاختراق التي يُشتبه في مشاركتها في حملة Fox Kitten هي APT33 (التهديد المستمر المتطور) و APT34 (المعروف أيضًا باسم OilRig) و APT39. ويعتقد أن جميع APTs المعنية ينحدرون من إيران. يبدو أن المهاجمين يعتمدون على خدمات RDP (بروتوكول سطح المكتب البعيد) الضعيفة وشبكات VPN الخاصة (الشبكات الافتراضية الخاصة) بشكل أساسي للتنازل عن أهدافهم.

يجمع البيانات الحساسة

لدى المهاجمين المشاركين في حملة Fox Kitten هدف رئيسي واحد - الحصول على المدى الطويل إلى الأنظمة المعرضة للخطر. سيسمح ذلك للمحتالين عبر الإنترنت بجمع معلومات حساسة أو حتى سرية من أهدافهم البارزة. ليس من الواضح ما الذي يخطط مجرمو الإنترنت الذين ينفذون حملة Fox Kitten بشأن القيام به مع البيانات التي تم جمعها. استخدم المجرمون وراء هذه الحملة أيضًا شبكات يسيطرون عليها لشن هجمات سلسلة التوريد ضد شركات أخرى في نفس القطاع.

قد تمحو الملفات الهامة

من المعروف أن بعض المحتالين عبر الإنترنت الذين شاركوا في عملية Fox Kitten قاموا بحملات مسح للأقراص في الماضي. هذه أخبار سيئة بالنسبة لأهداف حملة Fox Kitten ، حيث قد يعني ذلك أن المهاجمين قد يختارون مسح البيانات الموجودة على الأنظمة المعرضة للخطر ، والتي قد تسبب الكثير من الضرر بالتأكيد. يتم تطوير معظم أدوات القرصنة المستخدمة في عملية Fox Kitten بواسطة مجرمي الإنترنت الذين يقومون بالهجمات. ومع ذلك ، هناك حالات استخدم فيها المحتالون الإلكترونيون المشاركون في حملة Fox Kitten تطبيقات مشروعة مثل Plink و Ngrok و FRP. معظم التهديدات المستخدمة في عملية Fox Kitten هي قاذفات VBScript مخصصة وأدوات تعيين المنافذ و Trojan backdoors.

من الواضح أن حملة Fox Kitten لا ينبغي الاستهانة بها. يتمتع مجرمو الإنترنت الذين يشاركون فيها بخبرة كبيرة ولديهم مهارات لإحداث أضرار طويلة المدى لأهدافهم.

Fox Kitten

Fox Kitten Description

Malware researchers have been keeping a close eye on a hacking campaign called Fox Kitten since 2017. Unlike most hacking operations, which target regular everyday users, the Fox Kitten campaign goes after high-profile targets. Keeping in mind the nature of the targets, it makes sense that the Fox Kitten campaign is carried out by experienced, highly skilled hacking groups. The hacking groups involved in the Fox Kitten campaign would go after targets from the IT sector, the aviation field, government institutions, the oil industry and others. Among the hacking groups that are suspected to be taking part in the Fox Kitten campaign are the notorious APT33 (Advanced Persistent Threat), APT34 (also known as OilRig) and APT39. All the APTs involved are believed to hail from Iran. It would appear that the attackers rely on vulnerable RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol) services and VPNs (Virtual Private Networks) mainly to compromise their targets.

Collects Sensitive Data

The attackers involved in the Fox Kitten campaign have one main goal – get long term access to the compromised systems. This would allow the cyber crooks to collect sensitive or even confidential information from their high-profile targets. It is not clear what the cybercriminals carrying out the Fox Kitten campaign are planning on doing with the collected data. The criminals behind this campaign also used networks they have control over to launch supply-chain attacks against other companies in the same sector.

May Wipe Out Important Files

Some of the cyber crooks that are involved in the Fox Kitten operation are known to have carried out disk-wiping campaigns in the past. This is bad news for the targets of the Fox Kitten campaign, as it may mean that the attackers may opt to wipe out the data present on the compromised systems, which would cause a lot of damage surely. Most of the hacking tools employed in the Fox Kitten operation are developed by the cybercriminals carrying out the attacks. However, there are instances where the cyber crooks involved in the Fox Kitten campaign have used legitimate applications like Plink, Ngrok and FRP. Most of the threats employed in the Fox Kitten operation are custom VBScript launchers, port mapping tools, and Trojan backdoors.

It is clear that the Fox Kitten campaign is not to be underestimated. The cybercriminals taking part in it are very experienced and have the skills to cause long-term damage to their targets.