领主

领主说明

ForeLord恶意软件是一种新发现的威胁,很可能来自伊朗。网络安全研究人员推测,ForeLord威胁的背后是基于伊朗的APT(高级持久威胁),称为Cobalt Ulster。但是,这尚未得到证实。导致专家怀疑Cobalt Ulster黑客组织参与其中的原因是,该组织以前部署的威胁与ForeLord Trojan具有相似之处。此外,这次涉及ForeLord Trojan的最新活动的目标与Cobalt Ulster黑客组织过去的目标相当相似。看来,ForeLord恶意软件活动的大多数目标位于伊拉克,阿塞拜疆,土耳其,约旦和乔治亚州。

传播方式

ForeLord恶意软件是一种木马,旨在从其目标中窃取登录凭据。攻击者正在通过特制的网络钓鱼电子邮件传播ForeLord Trojan。有问题的电子邮件将包含伪造的Microsoft Excel附件,其中包含ForeLord威胁的有害负载。打开伪造的附件后,将要求用户单击其屏幕上的“启用内容”按钮。但是,这样做可以在其系统上安装和执行ForeLord Trojan。这就是为什么用户应避免打开来自未知来源的附件的原因。

能力

成功将其安装到目标系统后,ForeLord威胁将与部署者的C&C(命令与控制)服务器建立连接。 C&C会将确认发送给ForeLord Trojan,并显示“ lordlordlordlord”,这是威胁名称的来源。完成此操作后,ForeLord恶意软件将接收几种公开可用的黑客工具的负载,然后将其植入主机中。有问题的工具之一被称为“ CredNinja”,它可以帮助攻击者从Windows安装中收集必要的哈希值以及他们所寻求的登录凭据。 ForeLord Trojan的作者很可能会通过部署不同的辅助负载来使他们的操作多样化,这将帮助他们从目标主机中收集敏感数据。

ForeLord Trojan是一种威胁,它在很长一段时间内都不会引起被感染系统的注意,以收集所需的信息。确保您的计算机受到真正的反恶意软件应用程序的保护。

ForeLord

ForeLord Description

The ForeLord malware is a newly spotted threat that is likely to originate from Iran. Cybersecurity researchers speculate that the party behind the ForeLord threat is an Iranian based APT (Advanced Persistent Threat) called Cobalt Ulster. However, this is yet to be confirmed. What lead experts to suspect the involvement of the Cobalt Ulster hacking group is the fact that previous threats deployed by the group bear similarities to the ForeLord Trojan. Furthermore, the targets in this latest campaign involving the ForeLord Trojan are rather similar to past targets of the Cobalt Ulster hacking group. It would appear that most of the targets of the ForeLord malware campaign are located in Iraq, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Jordan and Georgia.

Propagation Method

The ForeLord malware is a Trojan designed to steal login credentials from its targets. The attackers are propagating the ForeLord Trojan via specially crafted phishing emails. The emails in question would contain a fake Microsoft Excel attachment that carries the harmful payload of the ForeLord threat. After opening the fake attachment, the users will be asked to click on the ‘Enable Content’ button on their screen. However, doing so would enable the installation and execution of the ForeLord Trojan on their systems. This is why users should avoid opening attachments from unknown sources.

Capabilities

Once it has been installed on the targeted system successfully, the ForeLord threat will establish a connection with the deployers’ C&C (Command & Control) server. The C&C would send a confirmation to the ForeLord Trojan that reads ‘lordlordlordlord’ – this is where the name of the threat is derived from. Once this has been completed, the ForeLord malware will receive the payload of several publicly available hacking tools that will then be planted on the host. One of the tools in question is named ‘CredNinja,’ and it serves to help the attackers collect the necessary hashes from the Windows installation, as well as the login credentials they were seeking. It is likely that the authors of the ForeLord Trojan will diversify their operation by deploying different secondary payloads that will help them to collect sensitive data from the targeted hosts.

The ForeLord Trojan is a threat that is meant to remain unnoticed on the compromised system over a long period to gather the information needed. Make sure your computer is protected by a genuine anti-malware application.