Blue Mockingbird Malware

Blue Mockingbird Malware说明

Blue Mockingbird Malware 是一个由黑客运营的组织,他们的最终目标似乎是创建和运行一个可以挖掘加密货币的僵尸网络。这个黑客组织于 2019 年 12 月首次出现。攻击者针对的服务器非常具体——受害者之间唯一的共同特征是他们几乎总是运行 Telerik UI 框架以及可变的 ASP.NET 实用程序。这样做使攻击者能够利用称为 CVE-2019-18935 的漏洞。此漏洞将允许 Blue Mockingbird 恶意软件在目标系统上植入 shell,从而控制它。

通常,像这样的攻击旨在收集敏感文件、机密数据、个人详细信息等。然而,Blue Mockingbird 恶意软件没有执行侦察操作,而是选择在它们危害的目标服务器上安装加密货币矿工。有问题的加密货币矿工是著名的XMRig矿工的木马变种。该工具用于挖掘 Monero 加密货币。近年来,越来越多的网络犯罪分子选择使用僵尸网络来挖掘加密货币,因为这已被证明是一种非常有利可图的冒险。

Blue Mockingbird 恶意软件的僵尸网络规模仍然很小。这是因为这个黑客组织追求非常具体的目标。大约有 1,000 台服务器被 Blue Mockingbird 恶意软件劫持。为了在受感染的网络上横向传播,网络骗子正在使用安全性较差的 SMB(服务器消息块)和 RDP(远程桌面协议)连接。

如果您使用 Telerik 框架,请确保应用最新更新,以修补允许 Blue Mockingbird 恶意软件利用服务器的漏洞。

Blue Mockingbird Malware

Blue Mockingbird Malware Description

The Blue Mockingbird Malware is an organization run by hackers who appear to have the end goal of creating and running a botnet that would mine cryptocurrency. This hacking group first appeared in December 2019. The servers that the attackers target are very specific - the only common trait the victims have between them is that they almost always run the Telerik UI framework alongside variable ASP.NET utilities. Doing so enables the attackers to exploit a vulnerability known as CVE-2019-18935. This vulnerability would allow the Blue Mockingbird Malware to plant a shell on the targeted system and therefore take control over it.

Usually, attacks like that aim at collecting sensitive files, confidential data, personal details, etc. However, instead of carrying out a reconnaissance operation, the Blue Mockingbird Malware has opted to install a cryptocurrency miner on the targeted servers that they compromise. The cryptocurrency miner in question is a trojanized variant of the famous XMRig miner. This tool mines for the Monero cryptocurrency. In recent years more and more cybercriminals opt to use botnets for mining cryptocurrency as this has proven to be a very profit-make venture.

The Blue Mockingbird Malware’s botnet is still rather small in size. This is due to the fact that this hacking group goes after very specific targets. There are approximately 1,000 servers that have been hijacked by the Blue Mockingbird Malware. To spread laterally on the compromised network, the cyber crooks are using poorly secured SMB (Server Message Block) and RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol) connections.

If you are using the Telerik framework, make sure to apply the latest updates, which are meant to patch the vulnerability that allows the Blue Mockingbird Malware to exploit servers.

Leave a Reply

Please DO NOT use this comment system for support or billing questions. For SpyHunter technical support requests, please contact our technical support team directly by opening a customer support ticket via your SpyHunter. For billing issues, please refer to our "Billing Questions or Problems?" page. For general inquiries (complaints, legal, press, marketing, copyright), visit our "Inquiries and Feedback" page.