Stuxnet-Related APTs used to create New 'Gossip Girl' Threat

Stuxnet的蠕虫攻击臭名昭着的工业破坏恶意软件家族,被称为Stuxnet ,现在被认为是所谓的“绯闻女孩”群体的可能工作。据研究人员西拉斯·卡特勒和胡安·安德烈斯·格雷罗·萨阿德说,绯闻女孩被认为更加忙碌而且比预期更大。

在新加坡,在2019年的安全分析师峰会上,萨阿德和卡特勒分享了他们的怀疑,即火焰,杜曲和方程组(以前与国家安全局有联系)背后的APT团体和开发商现在已经有第四个合作伙伴,称为Flowershop。研究人员在发现早期Stuxnet的一个元素后得出了这个结论,他们将其命名为“Stuxshop”。

他们还开辟了关于Gossip Girl的另一项研究,即Duqu 1.5的发现,现在显示了恶意软件代码开发的未知中间阶段。他们还分享了Flame恶意软件的新变种的发现,其中一个名为Flame 2.0,它表明代码在看似不再被使用后被带回。在2014年至2016年期间,Flame 2.0一直处于活跃状态。

寻找所有这些威胁之间的联系,卡特勒和萨阿德声称,有证据表明存在一个模块化的发展框架,由一群他们现在称为绯闻女孩的“顶级威胁演员”监督。观察不同APT之间的联系,可以更深入地了解威胁行为者以及它如何影响在线社区。

Stuxshop

Stuxnet在2011年以其对伊朗核工业的使用而闻名。两位研究人员发现旧的Stuxnet组件与Flowershop共享代码。这是一种旧的间谍软件威胁,可以追溯到2002年。它被用于攻击中东的目标,由于卡巴斯基实验室的研究人员于2015年首次发现它。它之所以得名,是因为在其命令和控制服务器基础设施的相关领域中提到了“花”这个词。

发现的旧代码有四个与Flowershop重叠的特定点。分析显示其中三个具有在注册表项中搜索感染标记以及查找Internet代理设置的功能实现。第四个函数重叠是重用评估OS版本的代码。研究人员表示,代码仅由StuxshopFlowershop样本共享,这一事实显示了封闭源代码的重用。

这些调查结果将Flowershop与Equation,Duqu和Flame一起作为自2006年初开始研发Stuxnet的不同阶段的团队。据Saad说,最近的调查显示另一个团队有自己的恶意软件平台用于早期开发Stuxnet蠕虫. 它还证明Stuxnet是模块化开发的一部分,允许威胁参与者之间的协作。

Duqu 1.5

代码研究人员称Duqu 1.5与Stuxnet共享代码已知,研究人员提到主要的Stuxnet内核驱动程序与Duqu'Tilde-D平台共享开发链接,该平台涉及这个威胁演员在中央的积极发展Stuxnet的组件。 Stuxnet现在因其破坏和工业破坏能力而臭名昭着,Duqu主要被用作中东,非洲和欧洲公司的间谍软件。尽管2011年它的活动有所增加,但直到2015年卡巴斯基发现其2.0版本再次重新浮出水面时,它仍然受到关注。

根据Cutler和Saad的说法,这个新版本经过大修,几乎完全在内存中工作,这意味着远离大多数安全软件的检测能力。它具有几乎类似蠕虫的能力,可以跨网络传播。根据卡巴斯基的说法,它在有关伊朗核计划的P5 + 1谈判的场地中被发现。

这种方法的好处使得事件响应者必须在感染的位置识别并检查这个看似无辜的文件。如果父恶意软件最终被分析,那么这一点就不会让研究人员有机会检索子模块并查看攻击者行动的更多范围。

根据两位研究人员的说法,最重要的结论是,Duqu背后的人已经准备好并愿意彻底改变恶意软件发现后的工作方式。他们更加努力地实现了这一目标,这种方式显示了一种新的,协作的恶意软件开发方法,他们将其视为绯闻女孩上层组的标志。

火焰2.0

研究人员还发现了一个新版本的cyberespionage工具包Flame,它也与Stuxnet共享代码重叠,卡巴斯基在2012年发现了旧版Stuxnet,其中包括一个名为Resource 207的Flame插件。这证明是一个重要提示,因为旧版本的Flame的命令和控制服务器开始发送更新,这些更新为剩余的Flame感染启用了自我删除命令,从而烧毁了他们的操作并摧毁了他们的任何迹象。这样做的副作用是,研究社区能够获得上一版Flame所使用的组件和目录的完整列表。根据卡特勒和萨阿德的说法,这就是恶意软件的死亡。

事实证明,这是一个诡计,作为时间戳编制日期的一部分,一直追溯到2014年2月,近两年后,据信最近发现了火焰作业被废弃。

虽然恶意软件是使用Flame源代码构建的,但它现在包含了针对研究人员干预的新对策,这使得理解Flame 2.0的工作变得更加困难。希望在这么早的阶段宣布调查结果将推动威胁情报领域采取同样的协作努力来对抗它。

当Stuxshop,Flame 2.0和Duqu 1.5彼此相邻时,整体出现的情况更好,而不是单独的群体,研究人员看到与Stuxnet的关系很可能在单独的项目中秘密进行。根据Saad和Cutler的说法,绯闻女孩并不是社区发现的第一个超级威胁演员,但它是第一个以更全面的方式进行描述的人。

发表评论

请不要将此评论系统用于支持或结算问题。 若要获取SpyHunter技术支持,请通过SpyHunter打开技术支持问题直接联系我们的技术团队。 有关结算问题,请参考“结算问题?”页面。 有关一般查询(投诉,法律,媒体,营销,版权),请访问我们的"查询和反馈"页面。

Stuxnet-Related APTs used to create New 'Gossip Girl' Threat

stuxnet worm apt attackThe infamous family of industrial sabotage malware, known as Stuxnet, is now considered to be the likely work of a so-called 'Gossip Girl' group of individuals. Gossip girl is believed to be busier and larger than expected, at least according to researchers Silas Cutler and Juan Andres Guerrero Saad.

In Singapore, at the Security Analyst Summit in 2019, Saad and Cutler shared their suspicions that the APT groups and developers behind Flame, Duqu and the Equation Group (previously linked to the NSA) now have a fourth collaborator behind it, known as Flowershop. The researchers reached this conclusion after uncovering an element of the early Stuxnet they named 'Stuxshop'.

They also opened up about the other research regarding Gossip Girl, the discovery of Duqu 1.5, which now shows an unknown middle stage of the development of the malware's code. They also shared the discovery of a new variant of the Flame malware, one dubbed Flame 2.0, which shows that the code was brought back after seemingly not being used anymore. All the while Flame 2.0 was active between 2014 and 2016.

Looking for the connections between all of these threats, Cutler and Saad claim there is evidence of the existence of a modular framework of development that is overseen by a group of 'apex threat actors' they now dubbed Gossip Girl. Looking at the connections between different APTs offered more perspective on the threat actor and how it may affect the online community.

Stuxshop

Stuxnet was known for its use against Iran's nuclear industry back in 2011. The old Stuxnet components were found by the two researchers to share code with Flowershop. This was an older spyware threat used as far back as 2002. It was used to attack targets in the Middle East, with it first discovered in 2015 due to Kaspersky Lab researchers. It gained its name due to the mention of the word 'flower' in the associated domains of its command and control server infrastructure.

The older code that was discovered had four specific points of overlapping with Flowershop. The analysis showed three of them have an implementation of functionality to search for infection markers in registry keys, as well as looking for internet proxy settings. The fourth function overlap is a reuse of the code that evaluates the OS version. The fact that the code is only shared by Stuxshop and Flowershop samples shows the reuse of a closed source code, according to the researchers.

These findings place Flowershop alongside Equation, Duqu, and Flame as teams who worked on the different phases of developing Stuxnet since the early 2006. According to Saad, the recent finding shows that yet another team has its own malware platform used in the early development of Stuxnet. It also proves that Stuxnet is part of a modular development that allows collaboration between threat actors.

Duqu 1.5

The code researchers are calling Duqu 1.5 is known to share code with Stuxnet, with the researchers mentioning the main Stuxnet kernel drivers have shared development links with the Duqu 'Tilde-D platform', one that involves this threat actor in the active development of central components to Stuxnet. Where Stuxnet is now infamous for its damage and industrial sabotage capability, Duqu was mostly used as spyware on companies across the Middle East, Africa and Europe. Despite its heightened activity in 2011, it went under the radar until it resurfaced again in 2015, when Kaspersky discovered its 2.0 version.

This new version was overhauled to work almost completely in memory, meaning away from the detection capability of most security software, according to Cutler and Saad. It has an almost worm-like capability to spread across networks. It was discovered in the venues hosting the P5+1 negotiations regarding the Iranian nuclear program, according to Kaspersky.

The benefits of this approach make it so incident responders have to be at a site of infection to identify and check for this seemingly innocent file. If the parent malware ends up analyzed this alone will not give researchers the chance to retrieve the submodules and to see more of the scope of the attacker's actions.

The most important conclusion, according to the two researchers, is that the people behind Duqu were ready and willing to completely change the way their malware works after it was discovered. They went the extra mile to do this in a way that shows a new, collaborative approach to malware development, which they see as the signs of the Gossip Girl supra group.

Flame 2.0

The researchers also found a new version of the cyberespionage toolkit Flame, one that also shares code overlapping with Stuxnet, something Kaspersky found in 2012 with an older version of Stuxnet that included a Flame plugin called Resource 207. This turns out to be an important hint, as the older versions of Flame's command and control servers started sending off updates that turned on a self-deletion command to the remaining Flame infections, thus burning their operations and destroying any signs of their tracks. The side effect of this was that the research community was able to get a full list of components and directories used by the previous version of Flame. According to Cutler and Saad, that was the death of that malware.

It turns out that was a ruse, as a subset of timestamped compilation dates all the way back to February 2014, nearly two years after Flame operations were believed to be abandoned were recently discovered.

Although the malware was built with the Flame source code, it now includes new countermeasures against meddling by researchers, which makes working on understanding Flame 2.0 more difficult. The hopes are announcing the findings at such an early stage will push the threat intelligence space to pull an equally collaborative effort to stand against it.

When Stuxshop, Flame 2.0 and Duqu 1.5 are put next to each other, a better picture of the whole emerges, rather than separate groups, researchers see ties to Stuxnet that very likely continue in secret on separate projects. According to Saad and Cutler, Gossip Girl isn't the first supra threat actor discovered by the community, but it is the first to be described in a more comprehensive way.

Leave a Reply

Please DO NOT use this comment system for support or billing questions. For SpyHunter technical support requests, please contact our technical support team directly by opening a customer support ticket via your SpyHunter. For billing issues, please refer to our "Billing Questions or Problems?" page. For general inquiries (complaints, legal, press, marketing, copyright), visit our "Inquiries and Feedback" page.