俄羅斯警方關閉了 REvil 勒索軟件集團

俄羅斯警方關閉了 REvil 勒索軟件集團

在美國要求立即採取果斷行動後,俄羅斯當局已介入並據報導關閉了臭名昭著的REvil 勒索軟件團伙。

俄羅斯聯邦安全局俄羅斯聯邦安全局突擊搜查了全國多達 25 個不同地點,包括首都莫斯科、聖彼得堡和較小的城市利佩茨克。

FSB扣押價值數百萬美元的資產

這次突襲以 FSB 扣押了總價值約 560 萬美元的資產和財產而告終。查獲的物品包括 50 萬歐元和美元,以及加密貨幣和 20 輛豪華轎車。

據俄羅斯報導,此次行動還導致 14 人被捕。逮捕的重頭戲可能是對殖民地管道襲擊負責的人。白宮記者 Ellen Nakashima 表示,她從一名美國官員那裡收到了信息,證實在俄羅斯媒體發布的視頻片段中可以看到策劃了嚴重的殖民管道襲擊的人。

1 月 15 日星期六,俄羅斯法院指控其中 8 人非法流通支付方式。

正如俄羅斯當局所說, REvil 團伙的 IT 基礎設施也已被沒收並“中和”。

俄羅斯 FSB 的行動發生在白宮和克里姆林宮就網絡安全和針對美國實體進行攻擊的另一通電話的幾天后。自 2021 年 5 月對 Colonial Pipeline 網絡的襲擊導緻美國東海岸大部分地區嚴重的液體燃料短缺以來,圍繞這一主題一直存在緊張局勢。

REvil是誰?

REvil 是近年來勒索軟件領域中最大的威脅參與者之一,儘管該組織意識到它對Colonial Pipeline 的影響比它所能咀嚼的要多。在對殖民地的襲擊後不久,REvil 似乎低調並假裝完全停止運營。後來,出現了新的勒索軟件團伙,研究人員認為它們是 REvil 集團的分支。

在 REvil 似乎最終結束之前,該團伙的基礎設施在 2021 年秋季的共同努力下被拆除。一個月後,即 2021 年 11 月,幾名涉嫌 REvil 成員被捕。

Loading...

Russian Police Shut Down REvil Ransomware Group

Following US requests for immediate and decisive action, Russian authorities have stepped in and have reportedly shut down the notorious REvil ransomware gang.

The Russian FSB, the country's federal security service, raided as many as 25 different locations across the country, in the capital city of Moscow as well St. Petersburg and the smaller city of Lipetsk.

FSB Seizes Assets Worth Millions of Dollars

The raid culminated with the FSB seizing assets and property worth a total of around $5.6 million. The seized items included half a million in both Euros and US dollars, as well as cryptocurrency and a stunning 20 luxury cars.

According to Russian reports, the operation also led to the arrest of 14 individuals. The highlight of the arrest is probably the person who was responsible for the Colonial Pipeline attack. White House reporter Ellen Nakashima stated that she received information from a US official, confirming the person who orchestrated the crippling Colonial Pipeline attack was seen on video footage released on Russian media.

Eight of the arrested individuals were charged by a Russian court on Saturday, Jan 15, for illegal circulation of payment methods.

As stated by Russian authorities, the REvil gang's IT infrastructure has been seized and "neutralized" as well.

The actions of the Russian FSB took place just a few days after the White House and the Kremlin had another phone call concerning cybersecurity and attacks carried out against US entities. There has been tension surrounding this subject ever since the May 2021 attack on Colonial Pipeline's networks that led to a crippling liquid fuel shortage in a large part of the US east coast.

Who was REvil?

REvil was one of the biggest threat actors on the ransomware landscape in recent years, even though the group realized it bit off more than it could chew with Colonial Pipeline. Shortly after the attack on Colonial, REvil seemed to lay low and pretended to shut down operations entirely. Later on, new ransomware gangs appeared and researchers considered them offshoots of the REvil group.

Before what seems like the ultimate end for REvil, the gang's infrastructure was taken down by a joint effort in the autumn of 2021. A month later, in November 2021, several alleged REvil members were arrested.