عملاق الإعلام البرتغالي يبدأ عام 2022 تحت خرق برامج الفدية

هجوم رانسوم وير

في غضون ساعات فقط من العام الجديد ، تعرضت شركة الإعلام البرتغالية العملاقة إمبريسا لهجوم من برمجيات الفدية . إمبريسا هي إحدى أكبر المنافذ الإعلامية في البلاد ، حيث تدير مجموعة من القنوات التلفزيونية وتدير صحيفة Expresso وموقع الويب الإعلامي.

وفقًا للتقارير ، فإن ممثل التهديد المسؤول عن الهجوم يمر بمقبض "Lapsus $" - عصابة برامج الفدية التي لا ينتهي بها الأمر في العناوين الرئيسية مثل بعض الأسماء الكبيرة الأخرى.

هجوم متعدد المستويات

لم يؤثر هجوم برنامج الفدية على موقع Expresso الإلكتروني فحسب ، بل أثر أيضًا على محطة SIC التلفزيونية المملوكة لشركة Impressa ، حيث كان كلاهما غير متصل بالإنترنت في أيام العمل من الأسبوع الأول من عام 2022. ولإضافة إهانة للإصابة ، قام ممثل برنامج الفدية أيضًا باختراق أحد حسابات الشركة على Twitter ، والتي تم استخدامها لاحقًا للتفاخر بالهجوم.

نشرت إمبريسا يوم الاثنين بيانًا إخباريًا ، أبلغت فيه أن البث التلفزيوني باستخدام موجات الأثير والكابل لن يتأثر ، مع كون البث التلفزيوني غير متصل بالإنترنت. أسقطت مجموعة Lapsus $ مذكرة فدية على صفحات الشركة المخترقة ، مع نشر Recorded Future لقطة شاشة للملاحظة.

بعد وقت قصير من الهجوم ، تمكنت إمبريسا من إعادة الصفحات المشوهة إلى سيطرتها ، وتغيير مذكرة الفدية برسالة "الخدمة غير متوفرة" المعتادة. لم تتضمن مذكرة الفدية المنشورة في البداية على صفحات الشركة أي معلومات عن الفدية المطلوبة ولم تصدر إمبريسا أي معلومات حول الفدية أيضًا.

من هو Lapsus $؟

كان الهجوم الأكثر شهرة سابقًا لعصابة Lapsus $ ransomware يستهدف وزارة الصحة البرازيلية ووقع في أواخر عام 2021. قضى الهجوم على السجلات المتعلقة بـ Covid لملايين المواطنين البرازيليين. هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يستهدف فيها ممثل التهديد كيانًا على الأراضي البرتغالية ويبدو أن المجموعة تركز على البلدان التي يتحدث سكانها اللغة البرتغالية.

نقلت Threatpost عن Dave Pasirstein من TruU ، الذي ذكر أن برامج الفدية "لن تختفي" ، نظرًا لاستحالة الحماية الافتراضية ضد كل متجه هجوم في البنية التحتية الحالية ، وللمدفوعات المربحة المرتبطة غالبًا بهذه الجريمة.

Portuguese Media Giant Starts 2022 Under Ransomware Breach

ransomware attack

Within just hours of the new year, Portuguese media giant Impresa was hit by a ransomware attack. Impresa is one of the country's largest media outlets, operating both a range of TV channels and running the Expresso newspaper and media website.

According to reports, the threat actor responsible for the attack goes by the handle of 'Lapsus$' - a ransomware gang that doesn't end up in the headlines as often as some other, bigger names.

Multi-Tiered Attack

The ransomware attack affected not just the Expresso website but the Impressa-owned SIC TV station as well, as both were offline into the working days of the first week of 2022. To add insult to injury, the ransomware actor also compromised and hijacked one of the company's Twitter accounts, which was later used to boast about the attack.

This Monday Impresa published a news release, informing that TV broadcasts using airwaves and cable are not affected, with just streaming TV being offline. The Lapsus$ group dropped its ransom note on the compromised company pages, with Recorded Future publishing a screenshot of the note.

Shortly after the attack, Impresa managed to get the defaced pages back under its control, changing the ransom note with the usual 'service unavailable' messages. The ransom note published initially on the company's pages did not contain any information on the demanded ransom and Impresa has not released any information about the ransom either.

Who is Lapsus$?

The Lapsus$ ransomware gang's previous most notorious attack was aimed at the Brazilian Ministry of Health and took place in late 2021. The attack wiped out the Covid-related records of millions of Brazilian citizens. This is the first time the threat actor is targeting an entity on Portuguese soil and it seems the group is focused on countries with a Portuguese-speaking population.

Threatpost quoted TruU's Dave Pasirstein, who stated that ransomware is simply "not going away", due to the virtual impossibility of protecting against every single attack vector in current infrastructure, and to the lucrative payouts often associated with this crime.