第九回合上訴,法院裁決Enigma Software公司可以對Malwarebytes公司的反競爭行為提起訴訟,因為此行為損害了消費者和Enigma Software公司的利益

加利福尼亞州舊金山,2019年9月16日 - 在第九回合上訴中,法院在Enigma Software針對Malwarebytes Inc.的案件中裁決,根據“通信規範法”第230條規定的免疫保護“並非無限制”。(對於法院的意見,請訪問https://www.enigmasoftware.com/legal/court-opinion-us-court-appeals-ninth-circuit-enigma-software-vs-malwarebytes-case-17-17351.pdf。)法院在其意見書(由施羅德大法官撰寫)中推斷,公司不得參與針對競爭對手的反競爭做法,然後根據第230條要求對其非法造成的損害承擔責任。法院進壹步裁定,Enigma Software對Malwarebytes承擔的損害Enigma軟件的反競爭做法的指控足以支持Enigma Software對Malwarebytes的法律訴訟。法院駁回了Malwarebytes的立場,即它可以單方面阻止其根據第230條“其他令人反感”的語言以任何理由選擇的任何軟件,並且不必向任何人說明其造成的損害 - 並且法院撤銷了先前駁回案件並將其還押到初審法院進行進壹步的訴訟。

Enigma Software最初提起訴訟是因為Malwarebytes對Enigma Software經過獨立測試并屢獲殊榮的認證計劃进行掠奪性与反競爭性的阻止,該計劃已保護全球數百萬用戶免受網絡安全威脅。正如訴訟指控所述,Malwarebytes正是針對Enigma Software,因為Enigma Software是壹個成功的競爭對手,其安全有效的反惡意軟件工具深受用戶歡迎。正如訴訟中詳細描述的那樣,Malwarebytes的反競爭阻止做法特別傷害了消費者,剝奪了他們使用自己選擇的安全軟件的權利,以及選擇擁有多層反惡意軟件保護的權利。他們的設備可以更好地防範不斷增加的惡意軟件風險和網絡安全威脅。

要觀看在第九回合上訴法院審查案件的口頭辯論視頻,請訪問https://www.ca9.uscourts.gov/media/view_video.php?pk_vid=0000015143

要查看Enigma Software提交的開放的法律摘要,請訪問https://www.enigmasoftware.com/legal/opening-legal-brief-filed-by-enigma-software-vs-malwarebytes-case-17-17351.pdf

關於Enigma Software / EnigmaSoft Ltd.

Enigma Software Group USA,LLC是SpyHunter 4的原始生產商(該訴訟的主體),是EnigmaSoft Limited的附屬公司。EnigmaSoft Limited是壹家私營愛爾蘭公司,在愛爾蘭都柏林設有辦事處和全球總部。EnigmaSoft以開發和分發新的反惡意軟件產品和服務SpyHunter 5而聞名。SpyHunter 5可檢測並刪除惡意軟件、增強互聯網隱私,並消除安全威脅 - 解決諸如惡意軟件、勒索軟件、特洛伊木馬、惡意反間諜軟件以及影響網絡上數百萬PC用戶的其他惡意安全威脅等問題。SpyHunter 5在獨立第三方測試實驗室(如AV-TEST)的比較測試中取得了最高分。 SpyHunter 5還通過了AppEsteemCheckmarkTRUSTe的認證。

Ninth Circuit Rules that Enigma Software can Proceed with its Lawsuit Against Malwarebytes for Anticompetitive Practices that Harm Consumers and Enigma Software

San Francisco, CA, September 16, 2019 – The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has ruled in Enigma Software's case against Malwarebytes Inc. that the immunity protections under Section 230 of the Communications Decency Act are "not limitless." (For Court's Opinion, go to https://www.enigmasoftware.com/legal/court-opinion-us-court-appeals-ninth-circuit-enigma-software-vs-malwarebytes-case-17-17351.pdf). In its Opinion (written by Justice Schroeder), the Court reasoned that a company may not engage in anticompetitive practices aimed at a competitor and then claim immunity under Section 230 from liability for the harm it unlawfully caused. The Court further ruled that Enigma Software's allegations of anticompetitive practices undertaken by Malwarebytes to harm Enigma Software were sufficient to support Enigma Software's legal claims against Malwarebytes. The Court rejected Malwarebytes' position that it could unilaterally block any software it chose for any reason under the "otherwise objectionable" language of Section 230 and never have to account to anyone for the harm it causes – and the Court reversed the prior dismissal of the case and remanded it to the trial court for further proceedings.

Enigma Software originally filed suit because of Malwarebytes' predatory, anticompetitive blocking of Enigma Software's independently tested, award-winning, certified program that has protected millions of users from cybersecurity threats worldwide. As set forth in the allegations of the lawsuit, Malwarebytes targeted Enigma Software precisely because Enigma Software is a successful competitor whose safe and effective anti-malware tool is popular with users. As also described at length in the lawsuit, Malwarebytes' anticompetitive blocking practices have specifically harmed consumers by depriving them of the right to use the security software of their choice, as well as the right to choose to have multiple layers of anti-malware protection on their devices to better protect against ever-increasing malware risks and cybersecurity threats.

To see the video of the Oral Argument of the case before the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals, go to https://www.ca9.uscourts.gov/media/view_video.php?pk_vid=0000015143.

To see the Opening Legal Brief filed by Enigma Software, go to https://www.enigmasoftware.com/legal/opening-legal-brief-filed-by-enigma-software-vs-malwarebytes-case-17-17351.pdf.

About Enigma Software/EnigmaSoft Ltd

Enigma Software Group USA, LLC was the original producer of SpyHunter 4 (which is the subject of the litigation) and is an affiliated company to EnigmaSoft Limited. EnigmaSoft Limited is a privately held Irish company with offices and global headquarters in Dublin, Ireland. EnigmaSoft is best known for developing and distributing SpyHunter 5, a new anti-malware software product and service. SpyHunter 5 detects and removes malware, enhances Internet privacy, and eliminates security threats – addressing issues such as malware, ransomware, trojans, rogue anti-spyware, and other malicious security threats affecting millions of PC users on the web. SpyHunter 5 has scored top grades in comparative testing by independent third-party testing labs such as AV-TEST. SpyHunter 5 has also been certified by AppEsteem, Checkmark Certified and TRUSTe.

Home > Ninth Circuit Rules that Enigma...
Registered Office: 1 Castle Street, 3rd Floor, Dublin 2 D02XD82 Ireland.
EnigmaSoft Limited, Private Company Limited by shares, Company Registration Number 597114.

Copyright 2016-2019. EnigmaSoft Ltd. All Rights Reserved.