互聯網在 CDN 提供商的大規模中斷後正在好轉

影響範圍

快速cdn互聯網今天早些時候,領先的內容交付網絡 (CDN) 發生了大規模服務中斷,影響了全球新聞媒體、商業巨頭和政府機構的網站。很快,CDN 的平台遭受了中斷,目前正在努力實施修復程序,以使受影響的網站重新上線並最大限度地減少加載時間。

儘管 Fastly 中的中斷沒有發生在其他 CDN 中,但它足以關閉屬於領先媒體的站點,例如金融時報、紐約時報、BBC 和 CNN,僅舉幾例。更重要的是,中斷還影響到了國家當局、商業網站(包括亞馬遜的)以及流行的 Reddit、Github 和 Twitch 平台,這些平台在周二早上的一個多小時內都顯示了“錯誤 503 服務不可用”消息。由於報告來自分散在全球各地的不同地方,因此失敗並沒有遵循任何特定的地理模式。儘管這些站點中的絕大多數已經恢復正常運行,但它們還沒有開始快速加載。

不是網絡攻擊而是配置錯誤?

Fastly 官員確保他們正在處理可能影響公司 CDN 服務整體性能的問題,CDN 服務是任何網絡內容提供商平台中的關鍵組件。但是,該問題是否源於蓄意的網絡攻擊尚未得到官方確認。相反,中斷的根源可能僅僅在於配置錯誤,正如稍後 Fastly 報告的那樣。

不是第一次 CDN 失敗,也不是最後一次

隨著整個萬維網慢慢變得依賴於少數 CDN,未來可能會出現類似規模的服務中斷。在 Fastly 崩潰之前,已經發生過無數次類似的事件。然而,其中兩個似乎格外引人注目。去年,在紐瓦克和芝加哥數據中心之間的關鍵基礎設施元素發生故障後,Cloudflare 遭受了類似的考驗。該故障隔離了另外 20 個數據中心,使大西洋兩岸的大部分互聯網中斷了半小時。 2017 年,亞馬遜 AWS 託管服務的問題使美國東海岸的整個網絡癱瘓了至少幾個小時,然後才回到正軌。

The Internet’s On The Mend Following a Huge Outage in a CDN Provider

Scope of Impact

fastly cdn internet downA large-scale service outage in a leading Content Delivery Network (CDN) took place earlier today, affecting the websites of news outlets, business giants, and government institutions across the globe. Fastly, CDN, whose platform suffered the outage, is currently hard at work implementing a fix to bring affected websites back online and minimize their loading times.

Even though the outage in Fastly did not occur in other CDNs, it was huge enough to take down sites belonging to leading media outlets such as The Financial Times, The New York Times, the BBC, and CNN, to name but a few. What is more, the disruption also reached state authorities, commercial sites (including Amazon’s), and the popular Reddit, Github, and Twitch platforms which all showed the “Error 503 Service Unavailable” message for more than an hour on Tuesday morning. The failure did not follow any specific geographical pattern as reports arrived from various places scattered around the globe. Although the vast majority of those sites are already fully functioning again, they have yet to start loading fast.

Not a Cyberattack But a Configuration Error?

Fastly officials have ensured they are dealing with a problem capable of impacting the overall performance of the company's CDN services, a key component in the platform of any network content provider. However, whether the issue may stem from a deliberate cyberattack or not has yet to receive official confirmation. Instead, the outage's root may lie in a mere configuration error, as Fastly reported later on.

Not the First CDN Failure, Hardly the Last

As the entire World Wide Web is slowly becoming dependent upon a handful of CDNs, there is every prospect of any future, similar-sized service outages.  Before the Fastly debacle, there have been numerous similar occasions. Yet, two of them appear to be exceptionally notable. Last year, Cloudflare suffered a similar ordeal after a critical infrastructure element between the Newark and Chicago data centers malfunctioned. The glitch isolated an additional 20 data centers down the line, knocking out large portions of the Internet on both sides of the Atlantic for half an hour. In 2017, issues with Amazon's AWS hosting services brought the entire Web down on the East Coast of the United States for at least a few hours before getting back on track.