“程序无法启动,因为 d3drm.dll 丢失”错误

随着技术的飞速发展,遇到兼容性问题已成为普遍现象。事实上,这是希望重温经典游戏的 PC 游戏玩家必须经常处理的问题。由于游戏最初发布的年份与 Windows 10/11 的当前环境之间的软件存在巨大差异,某些游戏甚至可能无法正常启动。

尝试运行旧游戏时可能出现的另一个问题是“程序无法启动,因为缺少 d3drm.dll”错误。通常,当用户尝试玩旧版本的游戏(例如 Microsoft Flight Simulator、Motocross Madness 2 等)时,会报告此错误。

d3drm.dll 文件,也称为 Direct3d 保留模式 DLL,是 DirectX 软件的一部分。 DirectX 是一种在 Windows 系统上运行多媒体产品(如 3D 游戏、网络游戏、图形和音频)时必不可少的软件技术。

要修复“程序无法启动,因为缺少 d3drm.dll”错误,请尝试以下解决方案:

安装最新的 DirectX 版本

DirectX 是 Windows 操作系统的一个组成部分,应该更新到最新的可用版本每当用户安装新的服务包或平台更新时都会自动进行。您也可以从 Microsoft 官方站点安装 DirectX手动。此外,尝试 DirectX 最终用户运行时 Web 安装程序。它将安装与某些游戏所需的旧版 DirectX SDK 相关联的所需运行时库。

试试兼容模式

Windows 有一个内置功能,专门用于解决运行旧游戏或旧游戏时可能出现的兼容性问题。

  1. 找到遇到问题的程序或游戏或相关的快捷方式。右键单击它并选择“属性”。
  2. 转到“兼容性”选项卡。
  3. 在“兼容模式”部分,选中相应的复选框。
  4. 然后,从下拉菜单中选择合适的 Windows 版本。
  5. 单击“应用”,然后单击“确定”以保存更改。

运行 SFC 扫描

SFC(系统文件检查器)是 Windows 操作系统附带的强大工具。它旨在通过替换任何损坏或丢失的系统文件来检测和解决大量不同的系统问题。要运行 SFC 扫描,您首先需要打开一个提升的命令提示符窗口。

  1. 在任务栏上的搜索字段中键入cmd ,然后按键盘上的 Ctrl+Shift+Enter。
  2. 在提升的命令提示符窗口中,键入sfc /scannow并按 Enter 以执行命令。
  3. 等待 SFC 完成系统扫描并修复任何检测到的错误。
  4. 重新启动计算机并检查错误是否已解决。

'Program can't start because d3drm.dll is missing' Error

With the rapid advancement in technology, running into compatibility issues has become a common occurrence. In fact, it is a problem that PC gamers who wish to revisit a classic legacy game have to deal with quite often. Due to the massive difference in software between the years the game was released originally and the current environment of Windows 10/11, some games may not even launch properly. 

Another problem that could emerge when trying to run legacy games, is the 'Program can't start because d3drm.dll is missing' error. Typically, this error has been reported when users try to play older versions of games, such as Microsoft Flight Simulator, Motocross Madness 2 and more.

The d3drm.dll file, also known as Direct3d Retained Mode DLL, is part of the DirectX software. DirectX is a software technology that is essential when it comes to running multimedia products on a Windows system such as 3D gaming, network gaming, graphics and audio. 

To fix the 'Program can't start because d3drm.dll is missing' error, try the following solutions:

Install the Latest DirectX Version

DirectX is an integral part of the Windows OS and should be updated to the latest available version automatically whenever users install new service packs or platform updates. You also can install DirectX from the official Microsoft site manually. Also, try the DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer. It will install the required runtime libraries associated with the legacy DirectX SDK required by some games.

Try the Compatibility Mode

Windows has a built-in feature dedicated to resolving compatibility issues that could arise when running older or legacy games. 

  1. Locate the program or game experiencing the issue or an associated shortcut. Right-click it and select 'Properties.'
  2. Go to the 'Compatibility' tab.
  3. In the 'Compatibility mode' section, check the corresponding checkbox.
  4. Then, select a suitable Windows version from the drop-down menu.
  5.   Click 'Apply' and then 'OK' to save the changes. 

Run an SFC Scan

SFC (System File Checker) is a powerful tool that comes with the Windows OS. It is designed to detect and resolve a whole host of different system issues by replacing any corrupted or missing system files. To run an SFC scan, you will first need to open an elevated Command Prompt window.

  1. Type cmd in the search field on the taskbar and then press Ctrl+Shift+Enter on your keyboard.
  2. In the elevated Command Prompt window, type sfc /scannow and press Enter to execute the command.
  3. Wait for SFC to finish scanning the system and fixing any detected errors.
  4. Restart the computer and check if the error has been resolved.