最新的Ryuk Ransomware版本保留Linux文件夾

ryukler索軟件無法攻擊linux 12月13日,網絡犯罪分子在對新奧爾良市攻擊中使用了Ryuk Ransomware版本。這次襲擊導致該市服務器關閉,大量檢疫工作以及市長宣布進入緊急狀態。新奧爾良市已被添加到一百多個聯邦,州和市政府和機構的名單中,這些州已成為2019年美國勒索軟件攻擊的犧牲品。尤其是Ryuk Ransomware已用於數百次攻擊中在私人和政府實體上取得了不同的成功。

感染新奧爾良市網絡的Ryuk Ransomware版本似乎相對較新。安全研究員Vitali Kremez發現了此勒索軟件迭代的新特徵–它故意不對* nix系統相關的文件夾進行加密。

以下是以前版本的黑名單中未包含的文件夾的列表:

  • 箱子
  • 開機
  • 開機
  • 開發者
  • 等等
  • 初始化
  • LIB
  • bin
  • 系統
  • vmlinuz
  • 變種

Ryuk Ransomware沒有針對Linux系統的專用版本。將* nix文件夾包含在黑名單中的原因很可能避免干擾安裝在Windows 10上的Linux發行版。Windows 10的Linux Windows子系統使在Windows環境中運行Linux發行版成為可能。

最終,此更改的目標可能是增加支出結果。以前的加密* nix文件夾的版本可能使某些系統無法使用,因此,即使不能阻止,也阻止了受害者支付贖金。如果罪犯需要解密受害者的數據,這也將減少罪犯的工作。

新奧爾良市從未披露過任何贖金要求。他們還表示,網絡攻擊造成的數據損失“非常小”,沒有支付贖金。關於事件的調查沒有更新。目前還沒有有關恢復過程成本多少的信息。無論網絡犯罪分子將這次攻擊視為成功還是失敗,都不太可能成為我們最後一次聽說的Ryuk Ransomware。自Ryuk於2018年8月首次亮相以來,犯罪分子在相對較短的時間內就將其用於大量攻擊。隨著Ryuk和其他勒索軟件威脅越來越流行,並且攻擊者不斷發展,攻擊者正利用它們針對特定組織和機構,開發和維護可靠的網絡安全解決方案和突發事件的重要性不可低估。

發表評論

請不要將此評論系統用於支持或結算問題。 若要獲取SpyHunter技術支持,請通過SpyHunter打開技術支持問題直接聯繫我們的技術團隊。 有關結算問題,請參考“結算問題?”頁面。 有關一般查詢(投訴、法律、媒體、營銷、版權),請訪問我們的“查詢和反饋”頁面。

Latest Ryuk Ransomware Version Spares Linux Folders

ryuk ransomware not attack linuxOn December 13, cybercriminals used a version of Ryuk Ransomware in the attack on the City of New Orleans. The attack resulted in a shut down of the city's servers, extensive quarantine efforts, and the Mayor declaring a state of emergency. The city of New Orleans was added to the list of more than one hundred federal, state and municipal governments and agencies to have fallen prey to ransomware attacks in the US in 2019. The Ryuk Ransomware, in particular, has been used in hundreds of attacks on private and government entities with varying success.

The version of Ryuk Ransomware that infected the networks of the City of New Orleans seems to be relatively new. Security researcher Vitali Kremez discovered a new characteristic of this iteration of the ransomware – it deliberately doesn't encrypt *nix system-related folders.

Here is a list of the folders not included in the blacklist for previous versions:

Suggested for You

#1 Reason Why You Need to Protect Your PC from Malware

Cyber criminals use phishing, malware, and other hacking techniques to obtain data and/or steal money. If you do not take action, your PC may be vulnerable to cyber attacks. What should you do?

Get SpyHunter to Remove Malware Today!
  • bin
  • boot
  • Boot
  • dev
  • etc
  • initrd
  • lib
  • run
  • sbin
  • sys
  • vmlinuz
  • var

Ryuk Ransomware doesn't have a dedicated version for Linux systems. The reason for the inclusion of the *nix folders in the blacklist is likely to avoid interfering with Linux distributions installed on Windows 10. Windows 10's Windows Subsystem for Linux makes it possible to run Linux distributions in a Windows environment.

Ultimately, the goal of this change is likely to be an increase in payout outcomes. Previous versions encrypting *nix folders could have rendered certain systems unusable thus hindering, if not preventing, the victim from paying the ransom. It would also translate into less work for the criminals in case they need to decrypt a victim's data.

The City of New Orleans never disclosed any ransom demands. They also stated that data loss from the cyberattack was "very minimal" and no ransom had been paid. There have been no updates on investigations into the incident. Information about how much the recovery process cost is also unavailable at this time. Whether the cybercriminals view this attack as a success or a failure, it is unlikely to be the last we hear about the Ryuk Ransomware. Criminals have used it in a large number of attacks in the relatively short period since Ryuk's first appearance back in August of 2018. With Ryuk and other ransomware threats growing ever more popular and evolving along with attackers are using them to target specific organizations and agencies, the importance of developing and maintaining solid cybersecurity solutions and contingencies can't be overstated.

Leave a Reply

Please DO NOT use this comment system for support or billing questions. For SpyHunter technical support requests, please contact our technical support team directly by opening a customer support ticket via your SpyHunter. For billing issues, please refer to our "Billing Questions or Problems?" page. For general inquiries (complaints, legal, press, marketing, copyright), visit our "Inquiries and Feedback" page.