什么是注册表项?

为了简化组织和用户可读性,Registry Keys可能是Windows注册表中最重要的方面。尽管Windows注册表是一个简单的文本数据库,但它可以被极其广泛的程序使用,可以导致大量信息的筛选,包括二进制值,32位或64位格式的数字,大数据分类的数据。 endian或little-endian类别和各种类型的字符串。 Registry的密钥是将所有这些数据组织成离散子集的容器对象,允许临时PC用户和程序员跟踪可用的信息。

注册表键的格式和理念

注册表特定于Windows操作系统,但在3.1以上版本的Windows中可以找到,取代以前使用的文本INI文件。因为它可以作为与计算机上安装的程序相关的潜在庞大的系统信息存储库,所以注册表通常可能会令人生气。但是,这是存在Registry密钥容器的目的。

您可以通过打开Microsoft的默认注册表编辑器Regedit.exe开始熟悉注册表项,但如果您愿意,也可以使用第三方软件。您将看到的第一个键将是默认的Windows键,也称为根键。尽管它们的用途不同,但它们的名称始终以易于识别的HKEY标签开头,后跟下划线。

CLASSES_ROOT键包含有关已安装软件的信息。例如,如果您安装了新的媒体播放器并指示它与MP3文件相关联,则可在此处找到该信息。

CURRENT_USER键存储特定于Windows用户帐户的信息。此密钥的独特之处在于它使用“漫游配置文件”概念来维护用户在同一Windows域网络中的不同PC之间的一致性,而不是特定于一台计算机。

LOCAL_MACHINE键包括与特定于单个计算机的设置相关的信息,包括敏感的安全设置。没有管理权限的PC用户会将Security子项视为空(提供恶意软件作者经常设计其木马以破坏Windows管理员设置的几个原因之一)。

USERS密钥与CURRENT_USER密切相关,并存储与PC的所有不同Windows用户配置文件相关的信息。

CURRENT_CONFIG键可以被视为硬件配置文件相关信息的快捷方式,它允许轻松安装,使用和删除各种不同的硬件。

DYN_DATA密钥是在Windows Me之后退出的过时密钥,与CURRENT_CONFIG一样,与硬件使用有关。

最后,PERFORMANCE_DATA是唯一不在注册表编辑器中显示的键,尽管替代程序可以允许查看者仔细阅读并与之交互。它是一个相当不言自明的密钥,通过适当的实用程序和/或NT内核提供有关性能的运行时反馈。

在这些键中有许多子键,它们可能有自己的子键。存储在注册表项中的信息和设置称为注册表值。上面列出的五个最常用的默认键也有共同的昵称或缩写。这些缩写如下,按其描述的顺序列出:HKCR,HKCU,HKLM,HKU和HKCC。

了解注册表项以了解您的计算机

在极少数情况下,软件安装或卸载非常困难,您可能会发现有必要编辑注册表并修改或删除相关的注册表值. 但是,没有Windows专用维护实践背景的PC用户不应在没有专家监督的情况下尝试对注册表进行任何更改。大多数方案都可以通过重新安装相关软件来解决。由于其广泛的性质以及直接编辑它会覆盖各种安全措施,编辑注册表可能会对您的计算机造成永久性损坏,包括操作系统和任何已安装的程序。

但是,很好地理解注册表及其键的作用以及它们的结构,甚至可以为临时PC用户提供实用信息。常见的在线诈骗,例如虚假的“注册表清理工具”,假装通过删除不需要的注册表项来提高计算机的性能,很容易被认为是那些意识到存储在任何给定注册表项中的简单文本信息不太可能影响性能的人的假货,特别是对于现代PC。

许多类型的恶意软件也会修改注册表,既可以安装自己也可以禁用安全工具。后者通常是修改简单二进制值的情况,可以毫不费力地重新启用。例如,后门特洛伊木马程序可能会为Windows防火墙的例外列表的密钥添加额外的字符串值。

虽然通常不需要对注册表进行手动更改,但了解注册表项和其他组件会增加对恶意软件和各种恶作剧的保护。最终,自我教育在PC安全性方面与拥有适当的安全软件一样重要。

What are Registry Keys?

Share:

For the sake of simple organization and user readability, the Registry Keys are, perhaps, the most important facet of the Windows Registry. Although the Windows Registry is a simple text database, its use by an extremely wide range of programs can lead to vast amounts of information to sift through, including binary values, numbers in 32-bit or 64-bit formats, data assorted by big-endian or little-endian categories and various types of strings. The Registry's keys are the container objects that organize all of this data into discrete subsets, which allows both casual PC users, as well as programmers, to keep track of what information is available.

The Format and Philosophy of Registry Keys

The Registry is specific to the Windows operating system but is found in versions of Windows since 3.1 on upwards, supplanting the previous uses of text INI files. Because it serves as a potentially vast repository of system information related to the programs installed on your computer, the Registry often can be intimidating to browse. However, this is the purpose for the existence of Registry key containers.

You can begin familiarizing yourself with Registry keys by opening Regedit.exe, Microsoft's default Registry Editor, although you also may use third party software, if preferred. The first keys you'll see will be the default Windows keys, also known as root keys. Although their purposes differ, their names always begin with the easy-to-identify tag of HKEY followed by an underscore.

The CLASSES_ROOT key includes information about installed software. For example, if you've installed a new media player and instructed it to be associated with MP3 files, that information would be found here.

The CURRENT_USER key stores information specific to the Windows user's account. This key is unique in that it uses the 'roaming profile' concept to maintain consistency for the user across different PCs within the same Windows domain network, instead of being specific to one machine.

The LOCAL_MACHINE key includes information related to settings specific to an individual computer, including sensitive security settings. PC users without administrative privileges will see the Security subkey as empty (providing one of several reasons why malware authors often design their trojans to subvert Windows admin settings).

The USERS key is closely-related to CURRENT_USER, and stores information related to all of the different Windows user profiles for the PC.

The CURRENT_CONFIG key can be thought of as a shortcut to Hardware Profile-related information, which allows all manner of different hardware to be installed, utilized and removed easily.

The DYN_DATA key is an outdated key that was retired after Windows Me, and, like CURRENT_CONFIG, is related to hardware use.

Lastly, PERFORMANCE_DATA is the only key that doesn't display in the Registry Editor, although alternative programs can allow viewers to peruse and interact with it. It's a rather self-explanatory key that provides runtime feedback on performance via appropriate utilities and/or the NT kernel.

Within these keys are many subkeys, which may have subkeys of their own. The information and settings stored within Registry keys are referred to as Registry values. The five most commonly-referenced of the default keys listed above also have common nicknames or abbreviations. These abbreviations are as follows, listed in the same order their keys were described: HKCR, HKCU, HKLM, HKU and HKCC.

Understanding Registry Keys to Understand Your Computer

In rare cases of an extremely botched software installation or uninstallation, you may find it necessary to edit the Registry and modify or delete related Registry values. However, PC users without a strong background in Windows-specific maintenance practices shouldn't attempt to make any changes to the Registry without the supervision of an expert. Most scenarios can be resolved by reinstalling the relevant software. Because of its broad-spanning nature and the fact that editing it directly overrides various safeguards, editing the Registry can cause permanent damage to your computer, including the operating system and any installed programs.

However, a good understanding of what the Registry and its keys are meant to do, as well as how they're structured, can provide even a casual PC user with practical information. Common online scams, such as fake 'Registry cleaners' that pretend to improve your computer's performance by removing unwanted Registry entries, easily are noted as fakes for those who realize that the simple text information stored within any given Registry key is unlikely to impact performance, especially for modern PCs.

Many types of malware also will modify the Registry, both to install themselves and to disable security tools. The latter often is a case of the modification of simple binary values that can be re-enabled without much difficulty. For example, a backdoor Trojan might add an extra string value to the key for the Windows Firewall's list of exceptions.

Although making manual changes to the Registry usually shouldn't be needed, understanding Registry keys and other components will bring with it an increased protection from both malware and a variety of hoaxes. At the end of the day, self-education is just as important in PC security as having the proper security software.

Home > What are Registry Keys?
Home | SpyHunter Risk Assessment Model | Privacy Policy | EULA | Additional Terms and Conditions
Copyright 2003-2017. Enigma Software Group USA, LLC. All Rights Reserved.